Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Knitting firelight

21 Comments

I wanted to post this yesterday, but unfortunate dramas with the kitchen stove meant that my daylight hours for photography got taken up before I could take nice pictures for you.  Let’s just say I wish my landlord would subscribe to my philosophy that new whiteware is always the way to go.  So here I am today instead.

I knitted quite a few swatches with Topaz before I settled on a pattern.  At first, as alluded to previously, I thought about something in lace.  After swatching it, I realised the yarn didn’t really want to be lace:

This is a candle flame lace or something like that.  You can’t really see the pattern.  I also tried leaves (this is a swatch of the pattern I talked about at the time):

Nope.

I also realised as I knitted the yarn that the silk content was dominant, and that I had to allow for possible stretching of whatever I knitted.  A reasonably tight tension would be required to help control the stretching.

I tried a woven stitch:

Hmm.  Closer, but still not quite there.

Next, I tried a linen stitch.  This one was nice, and I figured that the stripe effect would lessen with more stitches cast on.  However, I did not want it to look woven.  It had to look like it was woven, but definitely knitted.  Linen stitch is also quite dense, and I wanted to have more movement in the cloth than a pure linen stitch garment would allow.

This beautiful Little Wool Co. yarn, a silk/wool/mohair mix is definitely destined to be a shawl or some kind of neck wear.

The colour of this yarn reminded me of the colour a Buddhist monk or Indian holy person would wear.  Something about the burnt orange toning I think.  I was curious about why so many Asian cultures chose orange as part of  their religious imagery.  A quick Wiki search told me that “…orange represents Joy which is considered the catalyst of acting on faith to receive God’s blessings. Orange is considered to be a “happy color,” in many cultures representing the aspect of joy which raises the spirits and invigorates the observer. The second chakra, which is orange, is located near the womb and is therefore associated with creativity.”

It’s interesting that this yarn, of all the yarns I have purchased recently, is the one to raise me out of my designing funk.  The one that has finally rekindled my creative juices, and brought me a lot of joy in the process.  Must be something in the colour orange!

I thought of a pattern that would highlight the beauty of the silk and wool and mohair, demonstrate humility, and convey the joy of knitting.

What do you reckon?

I’ve cast on.

I thought the slowness of linen stitch might be a problem, but I find it’s strangely soothing.  There’s something very special about this yarn.

I hope the pattern works out the way it is forming in my mind!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

21 thoughts on “Knitting firelight

  1. Oh that yarn is delightful and it certainly has got you thinking! That last swatch does look perfect, can’t wait to see how it turns out. Thanks for the info about orange….it is my favourite colour, just makes my heart sing 🙂

  2. Good luck! I do like the swatch, so I think the resulting neckwear will be lovely 🙂 I haven’t yet tried linen stitch, but it certainly creates an interesting texture.

  3. I do like how the linen stitch is blending the color. And I find it interesting how different the yarn looks in all those swatches.

  4. The linen stitch is perfect I think – the colours are fantastic aren’t they? I didn’t know that about orange, but it makes sense. My bridesmaid wore burnt orange 🙂
    Glad to hear your designing mojo is back – sometimes it just pops it’s head in when you least expect it.

  5. The colour is so rich xx

  6. That yarn has such a rich color. Love it!

  7. It’s interesting that orange would represent ‘Joy’.
    It’s definitely a color that demands our attention when it seen,
    My own thoughts immediately think, ‘who could wear such a color?’
    But then it does demand that I pause to think about it.
    The “Glow” of fire in your previous post has invoked plenty of reaction.

    I’ve not knit the linen st, must investigate.

    hugs

  8. Did you intersperse linen stitch with some stockinette? I think that will provide a lot of variation in the fabric, which sounds like what you want. It goes very well with that gorgeous yarn, and it looks like the FO won’t have any of that stripiness that you got with the swatch. That’s the one thing about swatching- you can never tell what the colors on a variagated yarn will look like in the FO.

  9. I never doubted that you would come up with something that would do justice to this amazing yarn and you have proved me right. I think the strength of this colour, that has struck a cord with so many people is that it is almost primordial, it will be interesting to see how it changes from something so powerful onto something softer, will it still have that strong intensity? Exciting stuff! Can’t wait to see the progress. x

    ps replied to you email.

  10. “Mere colour, unspoiled by meaning, and unallied with definite form, can speak to the soul in a thousand different ways.” Oscar Fingal O’Flahertie Wills Wilde

  11. That’s it … I’m totally in love with this yarn! Amazingly enough, I was working with the linen stitch this weekend (just for fun – how geekish is that?) and love it. I think your shawl is going to be gorgeous.

  12. I love the Linen Stitch, must like the garter, I find it relaxing!
    I think this yarn is fabulous!

  13. There is definitely something special about that yarn, it’s ridiculously beautiful! It really does have a lovely glow to it. Great choice of stitch too, it makes the fabric look so sumptuous!

  14. orange is also the colour most likely to make you want to eat it…

  15. I love the final swatch and how it harnesses and showcases the flow of color. I didn’t likje being lac, and now your use of the combo of linen and stockinette stitches sings. Thanks for the explanation for the color associations. I knew orange spoke to me for a good reason. One of my favorite knitted items in orange was due to a swap with my friend Evelyn, Nigh Duck bag. (http://www.ravelry.com/projects/19vesperstreet/nigh-duck)