Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Banana breakfast pancakes

10 Comments

What better way to spend a rainy, windy Sunday morning than to cook banana pancakes for breakfast and peruse knitting books at the same time?

I can’t think of anything more relaxing.

These were so delicious that I am contemplating making more for mid-week morning snacks.  They are scrumptious with a plain cream cheese topping.  Someone else in the house had them with peanut butter and milk toffee spread, and someone else ate them plain.

They’re my own recipe.  Would you like to make some too?

This is what you need:

2 ripe bananas (smallish ones)

2 eggs

1 cup flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tbsp butter, melted

generous 1/4 cup sugar

milk  (for consistency)

Mash the bananas, and mix in the eggs and sugar until well combined.  Add to the separately sifted flour, baking soda and baking powder.  Mix in the melted butter.  Add milk if the mixture is too stiff, about a tablespoon at a time until you have a soft, cake mixture that is spoonable (but not runny).  I used about 2 tablespoons of milk, but how much you need depends on how big your bananas and eggs were and what kind of flour you are using.

Heat your skillet on medium heat.  When it is hot, start cooking the pancakes.  Each pancake will be a large tablespoon of mixture.  When the mixture bubbles on one side, flip it over.  It’s done when the pancake surface bounces back when pressed lightly.

Makes approx 15 pancakes.  Serve with your favourite topping or eat plain with a frothy hot cocoa on the side.

Hope you are having a good weekend!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

10 thoughts on “Banana breakfast pancakes

  1. That recipe looks good!! We made plain crepes, with maple syrup, yum. But that knitting book, please, can you tell me which one it is? I love knitting lace, and that shawl looks just divine!!

    • Crepes and maple syrup – also yum!! The knitting book is Clara Parkes’ “The Knitter’s Book of Wool” and the pattern is the Lillia Hyrna Shawl. It’s a goodie.

  2. Look delicious, we made buckwheat pancakes today. I wasn’t looking at knitting books though or I am sure mine would have been burnt 🙂

  3. Looks divine! I’ll have to try this the next rainy weekend. 🙂 I did spend the day perusing my newest library-issue knitting books though… bliss!

  4. Looks like the stove is back in order. Good weather in Wellington to be cooking,eating, reading and knitting.

  5. Yum, thanks for the recipe! I love pancakes of any flavour. Hope you enjoyed your morning! Knitting books sound like the perfect accompaniment to a relaxing Sunday breakfast.

  6. Definitely the best way I can imagine to relax. Those pancakes looked so unbelievably good too! I hope that the rest of your day is blissfully relaxing as well.

  7. Just wondered if you have seen this magazine – Entangled. Produced here in NZ by Genny. She’s looking for funding to grow the magazine. Her funds are being raised through Indiegogo.

  8. Just made these- so yummy! Thank you 🙂
    Instead of milk I added in 2 tablespoons of pineapple juice and only loosely mashed the bananas so there were still chunks Xx.