Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Just knitting

17 Comments

I’ve realised that if I want to get anywhere with my knitting now that I’m working too, I’m going to have to spend less time on line and more time with my knitting.

This weekend was a perfect opportunity to do just that – rainy, cold, (very cold) and quite miserable, we spent Saturday huddled around the fire trying to stay warm.

Fortunately, it stopped raining today, but it’s still “dragon breath” territory in the kitchen!  I’ve drawn the line at wearing hat and gloves indoors, but the thought has been tempting.  Thank goodness for the warmth of wool, possum, alpaca and mohair!

The cables and lace hoodie is coming along nicely.  I’ve finished the back and one front, but there’s still a tonne of knitting to go – two sleeves, the hood and one more front!  It doesn’t look like much at the moment, but I’m hoping that when worn, you’ll see the detail a bit more.

This weekend I also spent some time finishing a new design:

I  have another version to go before I release the pattern, and you’ll see more of it soon.

Hope you are having a great weekend wherever you are.

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

17 thoughts on “Just knitting

  1. Cold up here too – my fingers haven’t really defrosted all day! The family have been enjoying your latest knits to keep us warm! hoodie, beanie, shoulder wrap. 🙂 Thanks!

  2. Tantalizing photos 🙂

  3. Oh dear, hope your heating gets fixed soon. No fun at all when it’s cold INDOORS. I keep the house always snuggly warm.
    Bimbi x

  4. The opposite has been true over here. It’s boiling hot. I wish the nice cold weather would come again so I could wear some knits.
    Do we get any clues as to what your new design is? I’m really liking the color of the yarn already.

  5. I hadn’t considered it but you all probably don’t have heaters or furnaces installed in your homes due to your climate. Is that right or am I just clueless? Your cables and lace looks like it’s coming along nicely but now I’m curious as to what your new design is!
    ~Lacey

    • Spot on. No such thing as central heating here. It’s completely unaffordable to heat the house with standalone heaters, so we make do with the fireplace (and wear lots of warm clothes!) We might not get much snow, but it’s still very uncomfortable when it’s under 50F/10C indoors.

  6. So sorry to hear about the cold! Perhaps you need to knit yourself another sweater ; )

  7. Can’t wait to see this lovely sounding sweater! I hope you can stay warm and soak up some of the sun rays today. Sending happy knitting and warmth to you, xoRobin❤

  8. No heating system ? :0 I could freeze from the thought alone… Hope you have enough possum to get you through that winter… 😉
    I’m curious about the design.. the yarn does look good indeed !

  9. I don’t usually comment but always read your blog. Just had a lovely weekend in Dunedin. One of the highlights was visiting Flagstaff Alpacas – great tour from Andy, gorgeous alpacas and some gorgeous yarn for the stash. Thanks for putting me on to it – I bought some from the stall you ran for them last year and fell in love with the yarn 🙂

  10. We’re in the 90s F here / 32C
    even had much needed two inches of rain here five cm
    All in all a pretty good week.
    Some knitting, some yarny pkgs in the mailbox.
    hugs

  11. Me too 🙂 my plan to spend less time on line was helped by spilling a cup of tea on the computer…. it’s been drying out for a few days and seems unhurt – fingers crossed.
    Anyhow, the red looks delicious, warm and I’m dying to see what you’ve come up with…

  12. I love the new look blog:-) Keep on knitting as this winter seems like a cold one. As for trying to keep NZ homes warm……I know your pain…..

  13. Those are the best weekends to have … can I have a sneak peek at your new design? Pretty please?