Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

That’s Good

8 Comments

It’s not every day that one hears good news in the papers.  This morning’s news had me positively Happy!  Click here to read this article that talks about the opening of the Bruce Woollen Mill (formerly Quality Yarns) in the South Island of New Zealand.

This story is particularly heart-warming for those interested in sustainability because the reason it was bought and reopened is purely to do with the need to produce “Made in New Zealand”.  If this valuable mill had not reopened, many manufacturers would have been forced to go overseas to source yarn, destroying the point of difference for their business, and in turn, destroying the livelihood of staff employed by those businesses.

It’s fantastic also for the future of New Zealand made yarns and that makes me extra happy.  In turn, it’s also the good news for future of New Zealand wool and other natural fibres used in garments and hand-knitting.

I hope you are having a great day – I’m off to work now.

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

8 thoughts on “That’s Good

  1. I’m so happy to hear this news. The “Made in New Zealand” brand is really important and it’s nice to hear that others felt similarly.

  2. It’s so refreshing to hear good news publicized 🙂 I’m jealous of all of the wool in your country! I’m sure you’ll be giving them a go here soon!
    ~Lacey

  3. That is good news 🙂

  4. What a good news story about wool in our land full of sheep…

  5. I’m glad to hear it too. We have so much wool in this part of the world, it’s crazy that we have so few mills. x

  6. Yay!!! Wonderful news – long may it last!

  7. yay for Kiwi-made 🙂

  8. That is wonderful!