Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Tree of socks

16 Comments

Oh what a lovely day we had today!!  A deep frost last night turned Wellington  into a pretty winter wonderland this morning, and heralded a gorgeous, brisk, sunny day.  Ahh!  It was my version of a perfect day.  It made me feel like a new woman!  I wish all of winter was like this.  I didn’t even really mind being inside – I’m lucky to have a window, and it streamed warm sunshine on to my back all day.  🙂  We need more days like this.

The lovely day inspired a bit of fessing up about my current sock fetish in the last few minutes of daylight this evening:

I thought they might be pretty put on to a tree like a bunch of Christmas ornaments, but it hasn’t quite worked like that…  I probably need a fancy DSLR to get the shot I want.

Anyway, here are the watermelon socks:

Ignore the strange rotation –  loading portrait shots are a bit ‘hit and miss’ at the moment.  This is the self-striping Happy Go Knitty dyed yarn.  Aren’t the stripes so pretty!!!  This has to be my favourite way of knitting stripes.  No jogs to navigate and no ends to weave in!  They’re like magic…  If you’re in Auckland, and happen to want some of this prettiness for yourself, I see she’s doing two markets this weekend.

And here are my new ‘waiting’ socks (to keep in my purse for when I’m out and about and need something to occupy my fingers):

It’s funny that they’re almost the same colour range as the watermelon socks.  There’s a story about this one – it’s the very first ball of sock yarn I ever bought.  It’s a now-discontinued Opal yarn called Acapulco.  More magic self-patterning yarn.  When I first tried knitting socks I bought this yarn, and as hard as I tried, I could not manage the small needles and relatively fine yarn.   I’d only just taken up knitting again, so my coordination was obviously not as good as it is now!  Anyway, I put the ball of yarn away, and thought I’d never be able to knit such thin yarn.  Haha!!  Famous last words.

Another funny story with this yarn – I was knitting it on the bus when a lady across the aisle from me asked (very politely) why I needed a second pair of needles?  I looked blankly at her for a minute before realising she must never have seen a pair of socks being knitted.  Is this still possible!??  I explained (showing her the sock) that this was a sock and you used three needles so that you could knit a tube and then you didn’t need to sew a seam.  She was very interested.  I was quietly amused.

Below, I introduce the second sock of a secret test knit I’m doing for a lovely friend (more about that another time).  I’ve used Flagstaff Alpacas’s super-squishy, yummy Alpaca/Merino/Nylon blend sock yarn.  They are soooo squishy (really squishy!!), soft (see that gorgeous halo?), and amazingly warm.  I’m totally in love.  They are going to be my bed socks.  I never thought I’d wear socks in bed, but ah well, what one is reduced to when one has no nice warm person to cuddle up with at night!  Best of all, I noticed (be still my beating heart!!) that Flagstaff must have received some new yarn from the mill at last, because there are pretty.new.colours…

And finally, here is the first of another pair of the same test knit socks:

This is Opal Hunderwasser, in 6 ply.  In my defence, I was working through the pattern techniques for clarity!!  That’s why there are two pairs of test knit socks in varying stages of construction… 😉

And you know what?  I’m still eyeing up sock patterns.  It’s out of control.  The knitting deity’s recent punishment has obviously had no effect whatsoever!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

16 thoughts on “Tree of socks

  1. I have 3 pairs of socks on the needles taunting me, I just don’t seem to get much knitting time at the moment but they should be ready for next winter 🙂

  2. I love, love, love your tree of socks!! Seeing the Watermelon knitting up so gorgeously is making my resolve weaken! Good thing we’ve got a busy weekend and I won’t be able to make it to the craft fair to get some of that wool (although I have the page bookmarked and will probably get some online once there’s an ounce of space in my wool closet!) 🙂

    • Thanks! 🙂 Helene’s yarn is really lovely, and the quality of her dyeing is very good. No colour bleed or fading at all, and she uses very good quality yarn bases. You won’t regret it once you do treat yourself to a skein.

  3. I have a pair of socks that live in a bag that’s clipped to my purse. I ‘always’ have some knitting on me. LOL Those are gorgeous socks and so soft looking. I can’t wait to see them finished. 🙂

  4. They all look so gorgeous ! And I agree with Tez on the tree !
    Hm, thusfar my sockknitting hasn’t really been that succesfull ( little problem with pattern/yarn/gauge or the combination of those three ), but seeing you go, I think I should definitely give it another go sometime soon.. After all, that would be the only solution to my problem there.. And I would love to be able to dress up a tree the way you did 🙂

    • Thank you. 🙂 The pattern I’m testing for Audry might be the answer to your problems. Watch out for more details soon!

    • Jose – I’ve only managed to do a couple of pairs of socks (because I’m a bit slow with the knitting), but I’ve found Wise Hilda’s Basic Ribbed Sock (easily found via Google search) really easy to start me off with the sock knitting. Good luck! 🙂

  5. I must move to NZ so I can buy all that lovely yarn. And those test socks look lovely. But you already know that. Hopefully the pattern will be sorted out soon.

    • I’ll be on the watchout 🙂 Seriously though, I’m very curious about the book-to-be, even more so after that sock-test-knitting of course 🙂 Good luck with all the sorting out !

  6. Love the socks in the tree! I’ve been on a haitus from sock knitting for a while, but your watermelon socks are giving me an urge to pick up the sock needles!

  7. I have ‘a thing’ for knitting sox.
    Love your idea of decorating with sox.
    I ♥ knitting sox 2-a-a-t.
    hugs

  8. You know if I saw a tree filled with handknitted socks, I would think I reached heaven. 🙂 Love those watermelon stripes!