Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Wool appreciation day

14 Comments

There’s nothing like a spot of retail therapy to cheer up the day.  Yum, yum, yum!!  DK weight, natural dark grey/brown Romney lambswool.

It smells divinely sheepy, scents the hands with lanolin goodness.  From what I can see of it, it’s woollen spun, 2 ply.

It’s not soft, nor is it incredibly coarse.  It will make a lovely outwear garment that will last me forever.  Something deliciously cabled perhaps?

It from Hallblacks.

Must go and swatch…

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

14 thoughts on “Wool appreciation day

  1. Pure, simple, wonderful, wooly goodness! Looks like the yarn in your mitten on your blog banner. Enjoy!

  2. Reading this early on a dark November morning, my day is brighter already. Thank you! That yarn is beautiful. I agree that cables are the way to go, or perhaps something by Kate Davies, though you might need another colour.

  3. i feel warmer just looking at these photos. thanks for the share!

  4. Oh, it is screaming for cables, the wooly siren.

  5. Looks like cables to me 🙂

  6. Yarn shopping always brightens the day. Love the wool you came home with!

  7. Oh gosh. Seeing that skein makes me wish I could cast on using that lovely sheepy skein you sent me. I just have to get some knit presents out of the way first.

  8. It’s a gorgeous colour!

  9. Oh my, lanolin-smelling wool – heavenly! 🙂

  10. This yarn has a wonderful, rustic appeal. It would be fabulous in a cabled pattern. Good call.

  11. Beautiful! I, too, think it’s screaming for cables. I think my next project will be with cables. Sorry to hear about the (un) neighborly problems. It does affect one, doesn’t it? Hope you get it resolved. Keep knitting – that will help! 🙂

  12. this is calling for cables for sure!