Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Progress

19 Comments

I figure some of you will want to see what the Market Jacket looked like finished.  We got a cold snap today (hooray!) and my wrists are a bit sore from knitting Jacket No. 1 (the final piece – the collar – sits on my lap as I write this), so I decided to put the finishing touches to the Market Jacket.

I’ve been hesitating to put the buttons on because I just hate how buttons tend to pull through the holes after a while and the knit ends up looking less polished than it should.  Taking a look at my commercially knitted cardigans, I realised that the button bands are all lined with grosgrain ribbon.  I decided to follow suit.

Lined with ribbon

The ribbon lining has made a huge difference – the bands are stable without being stiff.  It also allowed me to sew the buttons on using normal sewing thread – something I usually don’t do when I’m sewing buttons directly on to the knitted button band because it doesn’t feel secure.  I’m going to line all my cardigan button bands from now on.  I guess it makes sense.  After all, when you sew, you always put interfacing on button bands.  Why not the same principle for knitting?

That done, here is the jacket:

Market jacket doneThe notes are all here if you want to see them.

It’s a very cool jacket.  I really like it, but it’s still going off as a present.  I think it will suit the recipient even more than me.  I’m already excited about a couple of other jackets I have my greedy little eyes on…

Tomorrow, I will start seaming Jacket No. 1.  After that, I have 10 days to get Jacket No.2 finished.  It will be a tight squeeze, but it can be done.

I am so sick of knitting jackets though!!!  There is some serious fantasizing of cables and other pretty knitting going on at this end.  The wishlist queue of knits is getting longer by the day!

And guess what?  Today’s the 3rd anniversary of my blog!  Time flies.

Hope you’re all having a good week. 🙂

 

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

19 thoughts on “Progress

  1. Love it, pity it’s not for you because it looks great on you. Isn’t the colour fab? Not sure what I think about ribbons on the button bands, perhaps on heavier garments or as a feature. I’ll have to try it and see 🙂

    • I think the only way I considered giving this jacket away is that fact that I still have enough of this yarn left over for a snuggly cowl/scarf thingy for me. Your sewing skills are better than mine – I suspect you’d make your ribbon bands look much nicer than mine. And they don’t make the band feel stiff at all.

  2. What a gorgeous colour – the intended recipient is very lucky

  3. That’s an excellent way to do button bands. I have never knitted a cardi, but I have been eyeing some up recently – so I’ll definitely use this tip!

  4. Oh it’s beautiful and the ribbon on the button band makes sense

  5. That’s a lovely jacket.
    p.s. Happy blogiversary!

  6. Happy Anniversary….always look forward to your e mails! Love your work….period!

  7. Happy blogiversary. May there by many more years to come.

    10 days for a jacket? I know I couldn’t do it. You must be one quick knitter!

    • Ah well. I’m the type who likes to have fire licking at her tail. It will be tight, but I’ve just done the first two jackets in 10 days each, so as long as I stick to schedule I’ll be fine. The power of thinking positive!!

  8. happy blogiversary from me too. i love your jacket, it fits you well. Wendy Bernard (Custom Knits series) puts ribbons on some of her button bands, possibly more for decoration than sturdiness – but it always look good on her designs.
    I always sew my button on using matching sewing thread rather than knitting yarn because the button holes are so small!

    • I saw some totally awesome ribbon at Nancy’s. It was embroidered and would have been so great to use – both decoration and useful. The only thing that stopped me was that is wasn’t a matching colour with the jacket. Next time though!!

  9. I love the jacket and it looks so good on you.
    Congratulations on the third anniversary of your blog.

  10. The ribbon idea is genius. Also, happy Blogiversary!

  11. Happy, happy anniversary!! Your jacket is beautiful — I so envy your skills, dear friend.

  12. What a beautiful jacket, shame you have to give it away. Good job you have a wishlist 🙂 Happy Blogiversary

  13. Congratulations on your 3 years. Really enjoy your blog. Hope you are enjoying your knitting still . Too many deadlines can suck the pleasure out of it all. 🙂

    • Thank you! 🙂 I know what you mean about deadlines. I think it has been ok for me so far because I’m incorporating interesting finishing techniques into each garment. I’m telling myself to focus on the last one – if I’m good and finish it, I get to do something cool!

  14. First off, ho’omaka’i on your third blogiversary! Yes, time flies so much.
    This market jacket you had knitted is terrific! The green is warm and smart idea to use ribbon to line the button band.