Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

I heart Autumn

13 Comments

It’s not officially Autumn yet.  But Mother Nature has already declared it. Busy bee

We went for a drive in the country yesterday.  We noticed that the leaves on the trees are already beginning to yellow.
Caledula

The sun is not quite as harsh as it has been, although it’s still very warm.  Don’t these Calendula look so much like miniature story book suns?  I see pretty sock yarn personally…Fading roses

The roses are fading, and the days are becoming less long, the light just that little bit less intense.Herb

It’s still a few weeks away before the crisp mornings that I so love.
CicadaIn the meantime, the cicadas are lustily singing Summer’s swan song, leaving me looking forward to happy sweater wearing time and frosty mornings bright!

I sense a change, and that makes me feel happy.

I thought I’d share a few photos from the last week or so.

Hope you are having a good week.

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

13 thoughts on “I heart Autumn

  1. Although it is still hot here I am already thinking about snugly winter.

  2. Beautiful photo’s ! And good to hear you sense autumn coming.. For me, too; as it means it won’t be long ere spring will pop in here, and I’ll be glad to welcome that ( even despite the fact it means putting away snuggly woolen winter sweaters… ) 🙂

  3. No sign of Autumn in Akl yet…god willing it will be soon. Jan

  4. There are signs of autumn here in Christchurch as well, darker in the mornings, dew on the car in the morning and the air is sometimes getting the beginnings of the crisp feel you get in autumn. Not a lot of change in the foliage yet though, our silk tree is still flowering.

  5. I love the change of seasons. Enjoy!

  6. I luuuuuuuuuurve Autumn! It’s my favourite season 🙂 Thanks for sharing the photos!

  7. Gorgeous photos and writing. I miss autumn. Here we have the occasional glimpse of spring, but it is very cold and cloudy.

  8. Beautiful photos, wonderful really. The end of summer makes my heart sink though, I live in such a cold house. In summer it is great as it never overheats. I am so looking forward to being able to knit again as I am going to do some knitting for myself as soon as I am able 🙂 Maybe then the thought of winter won’t be so dire!!

  9. We haven’t even had our wet season yet, I hope autumn isn’t starting up here, we still need our rain….

    • Oh dear! Seems the Australian climate is not doing well this year? Floods in some places, drought in others? I hope your rains come, and you get the moisture the land needs!

  10. Autumn is my favourite time of year – no longer too hot to sleep at night but still warm and sunny during the day. I’ve actually found the sun to be less hot but more burn-y than in mid-summer.

  11. It’s so cool how you were able to get so up close to that cicada. I am so ignorant about geography that I had assumed we experience the same seasons. In San Francisco, we are waiting for spring to come. We have sunny skies but cold air in the 50s.

    • The cicada was one we rescued from the clutches of the cat. Fortunately it was unharmed – we put it on a leaf to recover and it flew away. The hemispheres are interesting. It seems a little surreal that while we’re still melting in the heat, it’s snowy and cold in another part of the world.