Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

The making of

11 Comments

I think one of the best things about the making of the two jackets was in the finishing.

Here are all the pieces for the black jacket, all laid out, ready to be sewn together.  I always feel like the elf in the story about “the Shoemaker and the Elves” when I get to this bit. 😉

Pixie work

I took great geekish delight in sewing the seams and fitting the sleeves – I’ve included this picture of the navy jacket being sewn up as it shows the wool yarn I used to sew the seams.  I find that possum is generally not good for sewing up.  All that pulling the yarn through the seams tends to weaken it, and your seams will pop quickly, or you’ll find the yarn breaks during sewing.  A wool yarn keeps it together much better (not machine washable yarn though – I don’t like how it’s so slippery).

Wool for sewing up

Fitting in the collar.

Fitting in the collar

I quite like those ‘do it yourself’ furniture kits – like the ones in Ikea – where you have to put all the bits together to make a finished result.  Sewing up all the pieces after knitting feels a bit like that. This collar was especially rewarding.  It wasn’t until I tacked the pieces into place that I saw how it fitted in.

Inserting the zipper was slightly less delightful, but so rewarding to see a nice result.  This picture was taken after I’d tacked in the zipper – I took a picture to make sure the fronts were lying flat and the zip wasn’t wrinkled.  Somehow I can see this detail better in a photo than if I look at it with the naked eye.

Nearly done

I used what I call the Russian zip technique.  I blogged about it the first time I used this, so I will just refer back to the original post if you’d like to know how to do it, rather than talk about it again.  It’s my favourite method.  Such a neat result!

It was a mighty relief to see that the zip was exactly the right length for the jacket fronts!!

As you can see in this picture, this is the inside of the jacket – I’m covering over the back stitching with another edging (slip stitched into place).  It creates a very neat zip with no rough edges or edging that feels scratchy on the inside.  Apologies for the horrible pictures.  It was close to midnight when I did this…

Russian zip technique

I am afraid I was singularly unsuccessful in obtaining modeled pictures.  😦   The jackets were cursorily admired before being stuffed into a suitcase.  Sigh. Hint to non-knitters:  This is not the way to inspire one’s Knitter to do future knitting for you.

The pattern was well written and clear.  I’d definitely knit it again for anyone needing a basic jacket.  It fits very well, and the collar folds over to create warm, windproof protection around the neck.

Yarn:  Supreme Possum Merino in navy and black respectively

Pattern:  Adult unisex raglan jacket, a free pattern by Patons

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

11 thoughts on “The making of

  1. Looking great, yes I love the Russian Zip technique is very, very practical and it works. The other one I know is to use the long blocking wires threaded through both the wool and the zip and then it doesn’t buck around and can be sewn in neatly and flatly. Pity about the photos my dear and if they didn’t try them on, a disappointment for you as well. People are all different but your heart is solid gold…… Hugs

  2. Love that zipper technique for a really neat look. Having said that I have actually never put a zipper in a knitted garment although I own some commercial ones with zippers.
    I do hope it will be appreciated!
    Bimbi x

  3. How depressing to read that your work was merely “cursorily admired.” Just looking at the details in your photographs indicates that the jackets were beautifully made. Thank you for adding the information about sewing the pieces together with wool rather than merino-possum, as I am knitting a 4-ply pullover for my husband.

  4. so sad there is not a modeled picture

  5. Oh i’m sad to her that the jackets weren’t tried on and were put away in the case too. You have done such lovely work, never fear all your knitting buddies are drooling over them 🙂 xx

  6. Hopefully the jackets will become well worn when released from their suitcase..
    I really admire your zest in sewing the peaces together, not say envy it ( as I tend to look upon it as ‘the biggest challenge of the knitting-part’ myself.. 😉 )

    • I hope so! I noted with some concern that my stepmother is quite a bit smaller than I remembered (shows you how long I’ve not seen her!). I might have to knit another one in a smaller size and swap it with her, as the size she asked for will be quite large on her. Says the perfectionist in me. Maybe I’ll be able to get a modeled picture then! 🙂

  7. I have been lucky that everyone I’ve knitted for has made an effort to wear the knits as soon as I hand them over. I’m sorry that this wasn’t the case with the jackets. (I don’t mind if someone doesn’t like the knit, but have to pretend they like it, convincingly.)

    • I can’t really blame them. It’s hot here at the moment, and the jackets are very warm. I will just have to wait patiently for the happy remarks. 🙂

  8. You are such a pro about seaming. I have yet to try a pattern that needs it as I find it awfully intimidating. I am sure these two jackets will get great use and are much appreciated!

    • I just happened to start knitting when it was the norm to knit in pieces. It’s not hard – just go for it! 🙂 Practice makes perfect. Sometimes I have to redo a seam several times until I’m happy with the way it lies.