Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Best laid plans

15 Comments

So here I was making sneaky plots and happy plans for lots of beautiful knitting as soon as I finished the knitting of the two raglan sleeved jackets.

But as often happens, the best laid plans of mice and men tend go the way of Murphy’s Law…

I had grand ambitions to cast on Celestarium, and here is the yarn…

Moontide

all ready to knit and strung with beads (no, I will not put them on with a crochet hook unless I am contemplating sending myself insane), but for the lack of appropriately sized DPNs.  Sigh.  I would have thought, with my vast collection of needles, that I had every sized needle known to knitters.  Apparently not.  I went to the yarn store to get the needles, and would you believe it, they were out of stock.  Celestarium will be done, as soon as I can find some DPNs!

Then, as often happens when I load too much on my plate, I was also deathly tired.  So all weekend, I tried to knit a swatch, and half managed it.  It’s fair isle, and my head in a tired state does not cope with colour changes.  I guess it’s just because I don’t regularly knit colourwork.  I will tell you about this in a separate post as I am quite happy with the eventual swatch I settled with.

Instead, I managed to knit a fair amount of my new giant project:

Natural yarn This basket of yarn is going to become a hoodie.  It’s for my brother-in-law.  He’s a tall man, and well built.  I estimate I am going to need about 1.2kg of DK weight yarn by the time I’m done.  It’s in a beautiful, naturally coloured 100% New Zealand wool.  It’s good knitting when you are too tired for anything else.

I’m also trying to start Irish Moss.  I have identified a yarn, but the swatch turned out too big.  Alice Starmore must be a tight knitter I think… I’m not quite sure how she got so many stitches into DK/worsted weight yarn without turning the project into knitted cardboard.  I think I know a solution to the problem, but haven’t got to doing the math yet.

And finally, thanks to my bestest knitting friend Kb, I am in possession of some of the loveliest sock yarn from Violet Green.  It is 30% nylon(!), 70% BFL, but it is delightfully soft and silky, and I just love the colour!  I shall makes socks with it.  These ones.  Thank you Kb!!

Only as you can see, I haven’t got any further than casting on!Violet Green - BethAh well.  The week is still young…

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

15 thoughts on “Best laid plans

  1. You have had a great deal on your plate my dear and you must be very tired. You need a project that will relax you, allow your mind to rest and fly free into that crafter’s form meditation if you will, while your fingers are busy. It is healing and allows you to meld yourself back into a good place again. Which of those projects were for you…..the socks maybe??? Take care 🙂

  2. It looks like the great knitter in the sky has it in for you right now. Perhaps it is an Arachne/ Athena situation.

  3. You obviously like to be kept busy. 🙂

  4. Poor you! I would sink myself into the the hoodie and socks while the others sort themselves out. I tend to pick up more projects if I’m more stressed/tired but sometimes that’s counterproductive. I love all your yarns.

    • You’re right. It’s funny how that happens. Here I was last night thinking I should cast on even more! I think the knitting goddess is telling me the hoodie needs to be done, and I suspect that pair of socks are what I should be knitting alongside it. 🙂

  5. I had just that same problem with dpns last week. Strangely I had none the right size and my LYS was sold out of the size I needed… magic looping…
    It’s not often I feel too wiped out to knit and often a new project (and delicious new yarn) is just what I need to get going even when exhausted…
    Enjoy X

  6. All those yarns have such a soft but lovely colour I especially like the purple, and the projects look lovely to. Can’t wait to see the end products!

  7. Lots of great projects! I have just seen some beautiful finished Celestariums. Hope you find some dpns soon so you can get started.

  8. How can that be that your needle stash is not complete?? It’s always such a shock to realize something like this, yes? Well, I just know that when you cast on for your Celestarium, it will be gorgeous. xo

  9. Hi,
    I am going to show my ignorance and ask what are “dpns”

  10. Take care of yourself first. I love how you’re surround by lovely yarn.