Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Narragansett and the Kangaroo

8 Comments

Hello from a sunny Friday afternoon in Autumn!

DryIt’s the beginning of the weekend, and oh boy am I ready for it!

It has been a very busy week at work, so I haven’t had as much knitting time as I’d like, but I thought it’s about time I talk about something I am doing as opposed to what I would like to do!

Narragansett socks This is my knitting progress to date.  I’m about an inch away from casting off for the back of the Kangaroo hoodie for my brother-in-law (the natural coloured knitting under the sock).  I find it quite amusing to snuggle under it as I knit and pretend it’s a blanket.  ;D

The Narragansett Bay socks project has been absorbing, and reminds me of why gansey-style stitching was my first love in knitting.  I couldn’t help myself and slipped it on to see how it looked last night.  It’s sooo lovely!!!!  Quick, quick, now to finish the last two inches and then the other one super quick so I can wear them!

They’re a good set to knit together.  One for the “knit and not think” category and the other for “knit and squee” category.

I find that knitting something very enjoyable has a tendency to make me want to cast on for all the pretty things.  I’ve been pulling yarn out of the stash like crazy, but really have to resist the temptation to cast on.  I want to finish the socks – I feel like I haven’t had anything off the needles for ages.  In fact, it has been nearly a month (!) since I finished anything.  The hoodie will take longer, and I am not pressuring myself to get it done within a tight deadline.

Coming up, watch out for an interview post with another one of our wonderful New Zealand yarnies in the next week (I hope).  I’ve been so inspired getting to know her better, and I think you’ll enjoy reading about her too.  🙂

Wishing you a good weekend!  And now back to the knitting…

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

8 thoughts on “Narragansett and the Kangaroo

  1. This all sounds really good for you 🙂

  2. I don’t believe you haven’t had anything off of the needles in a month. You are to sweaters like Andi is to socks. You sneeze sweaters off of your needles.

  3. Lovely natural shades – I do love a bit of squee knitting 🙂
    I wonder who your yarnie will be? Looking forward to it…

  4. ‘Not so much knitting time’ ? Makes me wonder what would happen if you díd… my guess is that in that case you would be needing your own yarn-filled barn for all the sweaters you knit.. 😉

  5. Your knitting is always amazing and your yarns are so exquisite!
    Always love to see what’s on your needles! (all of them)
    xoRobin❤

  6. Looks like a beautiful, fall day! I’m SO glad that it’s almost spring here in the Northern USA and winter is finally leaving us. It’s so odd to think that the seasons are reversed in our two different hemispheres! Love the yarn and color choices. Happy knitting! Kathy

    PS – The Amazing Race was in NZ last Sunday and – OMG is it beautiful! You are lucky to live in such a gorgeous place. (My daughter said, “Duh, Mom…it’s where Lord of the Rings was filmed” you KNOW it’s beautiful!”)

    • You are right. It is a beautiful place. I wish we’d take better care of it. Glad you are enjoying the thought of Spring. I’m very much enjoying the first signs of Autumn. 🙂

  7. It is always fun to research new projects and to CO. The yarn looks wonderful.