Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

When the going gets tough…

11 Comments

the tough go shopping.  Well, that’s what I did this month.

Spinning a yarn Luxury

Spinning a Yarn Silk Merino Indulgence

Knitsch Pencarrow These yarnie beauties were my consolation presents to me for a month of very stressful work.

From the top –

Spinning a Yarn, Silk Merino Luxury (fingering) inAutumn Hydrangea

Spinning Yarn, Silk Merino Indulgence (laceweight) in Lichen

Knitsch, 100% merino wool sock yarn in Pencarrow

Knitsch, 100% merino wool sock yarn in Charlemange.

It’s a slightly dangerous thing to go looking at yarn online when you’re feeling in need of cheering and there’s money jangling in your pocket… there’s nothing like a bit of yarn shopping to make a girl feel better though, huh? 😉

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

11 thoughts on “When the going gets tough…

  1. “It’s a slightly dangerous thing to go looking at yarn online when you’re feeling in need of cheering and there’s money jangling in your pocket… ” But it is even more dangerous to look at yarn online when I have NO money jangling in my pocket but instead have a hot credit card wanting to be used!!! Congratulations on the beautiful yarns. I saw lots I’d like but threw ice on my credit card and quit looking. I’ll feel better for it in the morning!

  2. But aren’t they beautiful. I have come back into knitting after 25 years and I am still trying to find my way around online yarn stores in New Zealand. Can’t wait to see what you do with these.

  3. Ooh, I’m in need of some shopping therapy & YOU are clearly the one I should be in therapy with!

  4. Those yarns look abfab ! No wonder you needed them in your stash… 😉
    Hope you’ll be facing some very relaxing times with it !

  5. I did the same thing yesterday, only I bought some Fyberspates Scrumptious on sale at Deramores. Its cool that you find these amazing looking yarns from NZ producers – if it weren’t for you I would only know of maybe two. I gave up look at the Holland Rd site because every yarn I liked the look of was sold out!

    • Enjoy your yummy Fyberspates! I tend to use the site as an indicator of when there is new stock in… I like to go and look at the yarn in person before I buy if I can.

  6. Buying yarn after working hard is perfectly reasonable. I approve.

  7. Love the colours!

  8. I love how you handle tough! If you ever wanna share…;0).

  9. Which online sites ate your favourites for buying wool?? I’d love to add to my stash

    • Haha. The list is rather long… have a scan through the pages listed on my header menu as well as the side bar labelled “NZ yarn producers and indie dyers” and you should get a pretty good feel for the ones I like. The vast majority of the yarns I talk about on my blog are online.