Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Anticipation

8 Comments

The highlight of the Wellington knitter’s year (well, mine anyway) will be here soon:

Creative Fibre (the New Zealand organisation for all fibre crafts) is having its annual conference in Wellington this year (25 – 28 April) at the Te Rauparaha Arena in Porirua!  Although I sadly can’t attend the events and classes, I will be able to go to the trade hall!  So many wonderful yarn suppliers will be there (click the link to see them all)!  The trade hall is open to the public and free to enter.

The very next week (4 May) is the annual Wonders of Wool market at the Wellington Underground Market in Frank Kitts Park.  I am not sure exactly who is going to be there yet, but it’s going to be big!  In addition to many others, I know that Verandah Yarns will be present.  As well as the talented Helene of Happy-go-knitty, bringing her fabulous new graduated-dye yarn.   It’s making my mouth water…  That pink/green combination and blue/green/pink combination is looking especially tempting.

BFL_colour changing

Also at Wellington Underground (and Creative Fibre) will be the lovely Tash of Holland Road Yarn Company and Knitsch Yarns.  Nom, nom, I’m looking forward to seeing (and acquiring) more of this:

Knitsch new yarn

Attending both events is definitely going to involve a fairly significant layout of cash.  

I think I had better start saving.

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

8 thoughts on “Anticipation

  1. Now that’s put a smile on my face! Love the pink/orange Happy-Go-Knitty and Tash’s stash and red shoes! Good luck saving 🙂

  2. Oooohhhh lovely. What a time to be living away from Wellington, I’ve missed the record sunshine days and now this. Not that I don’t have tempting yarns here, but its lovely to see what’s on offer at home. Thanks.

  3. I predict that your stash will require another basket to contain it. Looks like you are going to have a great time!

  4. The yarn market of any conference is such a thrilling pick-me-upper! Have fun.

  5. Oh, don’t that look thrilling ! Have fun ( & spoil yourself 😉 ) !

  6. Thanks for the post! I’m so looking forward to catching up over a coffee! See you in a couple of weeks.

  7. Drooling, seriously drooling!