Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Star light, star bright

20 Comments

It’s not blocked yet, but it’s raining.  And it has been raining for the past week or more.  I am not complaining (too much) as it’s better that we have rain that the awful drought of the past summer.  However, it means that it’s very bad blocking weather!

By the time the weather is dry enough to block this beautiful baby, I suspect I’ll have moved on to other things to post about, so without further ado, here is my Celestarium:

Celestarium

It’s a fiendishly hard project to photograph I discovered.  I think the camera couldn’t quite decide whether to focus on the beads or the shawl!  Still, you do see the very pleasing star-like twinkle of the beads, so I’m quite happy.

The bind-off took me ALL day.  5,000 stitches, I think?  I wasn’t feeling very well, which was the perfect excuse to sit still and knit.  Hehe.

It’s draped over the back of one of my chairs, and it looks for all the world like I have suddenly found a portal to the Northern sky.  It’s a different view to what I am used to, and now I can’t wait to start on the Southern Companion!

Pattern:  Celestarium by Audry Nicklin

Yarn:  3 skeins of Moontide (dyed by Doe Arnot) in 100% alpaca from Flagstaff Alpaca in 4 ply (fingering) weight.

Knitting notes are Raveled here.

Thanks Audry, for that fabulous pattern!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

20 thoughts on “Star light, star bright

  1. This shawl is gorgeous! I can see the effect in your photo and it is stunning! I can imagine it looking brilliant on : )
    Can’t wait to see the Southern Companion!
    xoRobin

  2. Because it’s made from Alpaca will be not to heavy to wear.

  3. A stunning shawl. Beautiful work.

  4. It looks absolutely fantastic, you must be so very thrilled, what an effort to cast off all those stitches though. The colour of the wool is absolutely perfect and the beads are sparkling beautifully. I should love to see it draped on you at some point too, it will be wonderful and I am sure you will look fantastic in it and it will be very cosy so your timing is perfect. 🙂

  5. You’re right. It looks like it should be some sort of magical portal to the heavens, the sort of thing a knit-witch would construct if she wanted to be able to harness the power of the stars.

  6. Oh goodness, that’s lovely! All dark and velvetty and sparkling. 5000 stitches though – I shall stop grumbling about my 250…

  7. Oh wow! It’s like a piece of melted night sky! Lovely work. : )

  8. Your shawl looks gorgeous! I hope I get to see it in person.

  9. Congratulations!! That is so beautiful, and very inspirational. I have never cast off more than a small cardigan so I am DAUNTED by the thought of 5000 stitches, very impressive

  10. (from my Ravelry note)
    Wow. It takes my breath away. How gorgeous. When you shared the yarn I knew it had to be a work of art when you finished working your magic. How beautiful. Such an artist you are. 5,000 stitches? Even if I’d been considering trying to make this before I know now that I’d never attempt it.

  11. That’s beautiful! I can’t quite comprehend 5,000 cast offs but it was very clearly worth it! 🙂

  12. That is divine, totally divine. What a work of art. Well done.
    Enjoy that beauty.

  13. Absolutely stunning!! Well worth the effort (I hope)!

  14. absolutely gorgeous, worth the effort of binding of 5000+ sts, OMG

    • The good thing is that it was a knitted-on border, so there was no actual bind-off. You just had to knit 5,000 stiches to get to the end of the row before you were finished!

  15. Wow! It looks amazing! If bead knitting didn’t scare me so much, I’d give it a go!

    • If you string the beads on to the yarn first, there’s nothing to worry about at all. You just knit the bead with the yarn when you get to the place where you need to place it, and keep pushing the rest down the yarn until you need one. It’s really simple. 🙂