Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

All she wants to do is knit

7 Comments

All that yarny excitement of the past week has spawned a small tidal wave of new projects.  I can’t seem to stop casting on!!

WIP basket

That’s three sweaters, a pair of socks and a new design hat in my WIP basket. You’ll be pleased to see I’m making use of some of my newly acquired stash already.  That lovely orange (it’s not quite as bright in real life) is the yarn I picked up from Travelling Threads at the Creative Fibre Festival.  Eric needs a new hat and mittens.

The red project is the beginnings of Irish Moss by Alice Starmore.  I think it’s coming on nicely, but I won’t say much more about it just yet.

This is almost all of one sweater.  It won’t fit in the basket.

KangarooOne giant-man-sized sweater almost done for my brother-in-law.  I figure that now the weather has decided to start cooling down he’ll need it fairly soon.

You might be wondering how the pattern writing is coming on for Tidal.  It’s not too far away.  I’m going to satisfy my OCD tendencies and test knit another version to make sure the pattern is right before I release it.

It’s a glorious afternoon, and best of all, there was a frost this morning!!!!  Ah, sweet relief, it’s finally becoming cooler.  On that note, I shall potter off and quickly mow the lawns before we lose the light.  One must make the best of good weather when it is here!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

7 thoughts on “All she wants to do is knit

  1. I was wondering what had happened to Tidal. I had planned to knit myself up a hat real quick before getting on the plane. But somebody hadn’t released a certain pattern yet…

  2. Thats a lot of knitting! Lovely orange yarn – I couldn’t wear this color (sigh) so I’ll just be envious from afar and won’t try to steal it 🙂

    • I can’t really wear it near my face either, but it would have been fine as socks. My son looks really good in it though, so I’ll forgive him for stealing it. 🙂

  3. Jealous … I want to knit so many things right now but have to stay monogamous to a test knit that I’m working on. I’ll live vicariously through you and enjoy your WIPS!

  4. It’s amazing how many projects you can juggle! All of these colors look great.

  5. I love it when people cast on everything! It makes me happy! 🙂