Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Finish-palooza

18 Comments

This weekend was very productive.

I finished the hat.  I am very happy with how it has come out, and the design has inspired thoughts of several patterns.  We shall see if anything comes of it.  My pattern-writing mojo seems to have fizzled at the moment.  For now this hat has a title to do with water.  Don’t you think it looks just like rivulets of water?

The orange hatI also finished the hoodie.  I will wait to show it to you as it’s on its way to the recipient now, and he should see it first when it comes out of the box.  Also,  I want to know if it fits him before I show it to you (also hoping I might get a modelled picture… hint, hint).  However, I will show you this finishing detail that I am rather happy with:

Reinforced shoulderThis is the inside shoulder seam.  I added cotton tape (quite happy I had some nice stuff that looks good too) which is an old trick to stabilise the shoulder and prevent stretching from occurring.  I worry that the weight of the sweater will in time cause the shoulder to lose shape and sag.  The tape has been sewn into the seams of both shoulders, and should prevent this possibility.

I also finished some socks:

Squeaky Elliot socksDelicious BFL from Squeaky Elliott, another generous gift from Kb.

The possum scarf also got finished.  Just in time for the polar blast that hit tonight!  I will try to convince a young man to allow me to photograph him in it at some point.  He happily wrapped himself in its cuddly warmth and softness when he got in from school today, as it was finally dry from blocking.

All that finishing meant that the only WIP I had left in my basket was the Southern Skies shawl! I felt bereft.  The basket looked lonely.

Needless to say, a couple of WIPs have since sprung on to the needles.  🙂  For one, I think I need to get some mittens done tonight so that someone’s hands don’t freeze on the way to school tomorrow!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

18 thoughts on “Finish-palooza

  1. Man, I could sure go for a finish-palooza myself. I feel like it’s been eons since I cast-off anything.

  2. Cotton tape on the shoulder is a great trick. I’ve never heard of it before.

  3. So envious of you finish-palooza! What beautiful projects you created. And yes the top hat does look like water waves. Beautiful!

  4. Wow you were so productive! The water rivulets on the hat reminds me of that poem/game we used to play as kids, where you “crack an egg” on someone’s head and make it feel like it’s running down their hair with your fingers.

  5. The hat is lovely and yes! just in time for the winter blast!

  6. Where do you find the time for all that knitting. I love the hat. I’m very fond of orange too, a happy colour for winter.

  7. So very impressed at your cast-off-extravaganza! I’m drowining in WIPs but can’t seem to get to the end of any of them. Maybe need to start something new and have a wee break…. That hat might have just set the inspiration juices running!

  8. Only one WIP? There was a disturbance in The Force when that happened. Good thing you balanced the universe with more WIPS!

  9. You have been so productive. I love the beanie and yes it does look like rivulets of water.

  10. The hat is fabulous, yes it does look like rain trickling down a window, very clever :). Both the boys will be feeling snug with your finished works in the various places on them, how pleasing with this freezing weather. Your socks are so lovely too, so all of you in knitting from your needles. It is a rewarding feeling!!. Interestingly, I was just trying to explain the stabilizer theory to my daughter, who did not get my verbal explanation, so I just sent her a copy of your picture and she has finally “got” it thank you so much. I have finally also made a decision in consultation with my daughter, on yarn for my grand-children’s mittens, so they soon will be WIP at my house.thank you so very much for the use of your fabulous pattern 🙂

  11. you certainly get through alot of knitting,hope you manage to get the mittens made as certainly looks likr winter has arrived

  12. Wow, what a lot of knitting goodness ! And did you also manage to eat and sleep and such somewhere in between ? Up here things are going rather slowly at the moment, but maybe that is also due to the weather; contrary to you we are finally getting some sunny warmth here… Hope you get al your wintry knitting done in due time 😉

    • Not a lot of sleep, but the knitting was calling, and it was hard to resist! Sometimes the universe helps the knitting move quickly, sometimes not so quickly. At the moment, the knitting vibe seems to be going my way, which helps. The mittens are done now too. 🙂

      > Date: Tue, 28 May 2013 08:20:50 +0000 > To: wsleong@hotmail.co.nz >

  13. The hat is lovely – definitely water. I love the colour too.
    Polar blast?! I guess it’s about time. Let’s hope your summer gets over this way soon!

  14. The hat is terrific. You have been incredibly productive.

  15. YOur socks look terrific! I love the colorway anyhow they seem to hug your feet.
    What a neat trick for the shoulder seam. FIrst I’ve seen such a thing.
    The hat color’s great and what a good simile for rivulets of water.