Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Little ones

12 Comments

I have forgotten how little they come.  This little jacket started off life two sizes larger… I was convinced my 18 month old nephew must be that size by now!  Halfway up the back, a sneaking suspicion overtook me that I might have misjudged the size I needed to knit.  A quick call to my sister confirmed the fact.  Rip, rip!

N1087 kid jacket

Small knits are super fast to knit.  So small, soooo cuuuuute!!

It still needs a zip, but essentially, it’s done.

This is a Naturally NZ Yarns pattern by the number N1087.  I’ve knitted it in The Wool Company’s natural mid-brown 100% New Zealand Corriedale yarn, a DK weight yarn. I needed just over 200g to knit the smallest size (to fit a 2yr old).

The pattern is a goodie – you get instructions for all of 8 ply (DK), 10 ply (worsted) and 14 ply (chunky) weights, and the instructions come for both jacket and a sweater in sizing ranging from 2 yrs – 52″ chest adult!  Fantastic!

 

 

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

12 thoughts on “Little ones

  1. You may enjoy having a look at this below 🙂 xxxm

    Margot

    Margot Robartes

    35a Main St

    Oxford 7430

    _____

  2. You are such a speedy knitter. Sweet knit and yes little things are fun to do. Just in time for the weather.

  3. Very cute and very smart looking!

  4. The little jacket looks super snug…sure to keep the winter chills at bay!

  5. That is so dotey. I love baby knits.

  6. That is such a gorgeous little manly carry. I love it.

  7. That is super cute! I love the natural colour for a youngins knit.

  8. Having a little girl has drawn me back into knitting. Feel like I can start and actually finish projects!

  9. Gosh. I love that little collar. Something about babies in collared jackets just does it for me.

  10. Love this all boy cardi for your nephew. It came out so awesome!

  11. Cool. I wish more patterns came with yarn weight variations.