Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

The Droplet Socks

27 Comments

It’s funny what inspires us to design.

In winter, I spend a few minutes most mornings wiping away the condensation that has collected on the inside of my windows overnight.

On the outside of one of my windows, there is a small patch of beautiful, golden lichen.  It’s so pretty, I don’t want to pick it off.  I believe its name is Xanthoria parietina or Golden Shield Lichen.

Window droplets and lichenI must have spent some time absorbing the beauty of these two images in concert, because this is what popped off my needles recently:

Droplet socks

I’m so happy with this design that I thought I’d share it with you today!

The stitch pattern is a very simple lace pattern of alternating K2tog and SSK forming the droplets.  Twisted stitch ribbing creates defined “rivulets” between the droplets.  The droplets begin as small “beads” at the top of the cuff and turn into longer droplets towards the toes.

See the two images together:

Inspiration and its result

The sock is constructed top down. Customise the sock according to your preference with your favourite heel and toe construction!  The length can easily be altered by knitting more or less repeats of the pattern, and smaller than average feet should be able to achieve a good fit by using slightly smaller needles (2.25mm).

Of course, I was very lucky to find yarn in the exact colour of the lichen at Holland Road Yarn Company.

Knitsch in West Janney, image courtest of Holland Road Yarn Company

Knitsch in West Janney, image courtest of Holland Road Yarn Company

This Knitsch colourway is called West Janney.  Tash has luckily just dyed a fresh batch, so if you’d like some of this pretty colour for your own, hop on over, but be quick or I am sure it will all sell out very quickly!

I decided to do something different with this pattern.  I have included two types of instructions.  There are ‘basic’ instructions for experienced sock knitters and more detailed instructions for beginner/occasional sock knitters.

The reason I did this is because when I knit socks, I already know how to start the cuff, and form the heel and toes, and don’t really want to wade through all those instructions (which end up muddling my brain).  So I have left only the bones of the instructions in there, which is what I need to see to knit a sock.  Maybe some of you feel the same?  I know that not everyone is ready for this kind of pattern though, so for those who need to see detailed instructions, they are there too.

The free pattern is here:  Free pattern: Droplet socks.  I will also shortly load the pattern on to Ravelry, where you can also download it for free.

I hope you enjoy knitting them as much as I did!!

Droplet socks

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

27 thoughts on “The Droplet Socks

  1. Lovely pattern and colour – such a good match! Thanks for the pattern, might do it as my first top-down sock, so all those extra instructions will be handy 🙂

  2. They’re beautiful, and what lovely yarn! Thank you for the pattern. I’m hoping I might get to try this one (my queue grows daily).

  3. Oh, they’re lovely! I can’t wait to knit a pair of these for myself!! Thank you for the pattern. 🙂

  4. These are beautiful and the pattern really looks like droplets. Thanks for sharing your pattern 🙂

  5. even though I don’t normally like yellow, I love the colour of your socks. I may never get around to knitting themt hough – so far it’s taken me two months to get halfway down one sock!

  6. these are lovely! I have some similar coloured yarn in my stash (not knitsch) that might just be the perfect yarn for me to try this pattern.
    I’ll queue it :O)

    hope you are well X

  7. You’ve got me tempted. I want a pair of Droplet Socks. Perhaps I will have some time to indulge in the near future.

  8. Oh you are so extremely clever……..Wow!!! They are just beautiful socks, I love them and the colour is absolutely marvellous isn’t it……..though how you managed the comparison photo makes my heart lurch………a window sill…….goodness me and it does make a fabulous photo. I always enjoy your photos, you are very talented with your camera. 🙂
    I must be brave a knit myself a pair of socks. I am sure I probably could. Instead my daughter bags my intended yarns destined for my socks for her family but I must admit to the huge pleasure I get in crafting garments for the 5 yr old girl and 3 yr old boy and now the new baby just 10 weeks away. At some point I will buy some more yarn that just HAS to be for MY socks and I will manage to knit a pair. You are such an wonderful inspiration and thank you 🙂

    • I can completely identify with using yarns intended for yourself for family. I do that too, and it is most satisfying to see the yarn loved as a much-loved knitted garment.

      The window sill wasn’t that bad – the windows are french windows, so I was standing on solid ground. 🙂

  9. They look gorgeous ! Thank you for the pattern ! I hope my LYS will have some uni-coloured winter sock yarn, so I can make me my own pair 🙂

  10. Oooh, these are gorgeous … thanks for offering this as a free pattern. I have the perfect yarn in my stash and can’t wait to cast on!

  11. Ooh, you’re so clever and generous! What great inspiration you had.

  12. Love those socks and the colour is spectacular! Thanks 🙂

  13. Funny how that happens. A lot of my patterns are inspired by things around me too. Pretty socks!

  14. Love these socks. Thanks so much for the pattern. I’m in a real sock addiction at the moment. I seem to have so many lovely colour hanks for socks. I think your shawl is beautiful and admire your patience to get the lace right I go cross-eyed and give up.

    • I’m so glad you like the pattern. 🙂 Lace knitting was not in my range until I decided to actually ‘study’ it. It seems to have worked, but I completely sympathise with the feeling of going cross-eyed!

      > Date: Fri, 23 Aug 2013 04:13:56 +0000 > To: wsleong@hotmail.co.nz >

  15. Love these socks and the color of the yarn… Think I’ll try my hand at this,,,when I get over being so rusty with my needles. 🙂 Thanks for sharing the free pattern.