Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

From Mum, with love.

30 Comments

Some people are not fond of pink.  It definitely has a (smallish) space in my wardrobe though.  It is also a colour which I will forever associate with my baby girl.

I bought the yarn for this shawl a while ago, with the express intention of knitting something for her.  It has taken a while to decide on the right pattern!  I am supremely happy to show you the result today:

Golitha Falls Shawl

Golitha Falls Shawl

My baby girl is no longer a baby.  She’s a grown girl who will celebrate her 20th birthday in just a few days.  I guess this is my last chance to knit her something pink before she complains I’ll never think of her as an adult!  It’s going in the post to keep my girl warm where she lives in England.

Golitha Falls Shawl 3

I sometimes think that being a parent is one of the most heart-breaking things to be in the world.  From the moment they are born, they begin on their journey to eventually leaving you and setting out in the world on their own.  Loving and leaving – two vastly different sentiments, yet so intimately entwined.

The first smile, the first step, the first word, all celebrated with joy.  That first day at school, waving a happy goodbye (I shed the tear, not her!)  That first drive down the driveway… without me.  The stoic farewell at the airport as she embarked on her life journey.  It’s all part of being a parent, isn’t it? Raising a balanced, happy individual who is ready and willing to venture into the world on their own, living an independent life.  Being able to love, and yet let go.

Every single stitch of this shawl was knitted thinking of her.  I miss her very much, and I hope that when she wears this shawl around her shoulders on cold winter mornings (she’s already told me it will be her ‘house shawl’) it will remind her of her mum, and that even though I am very far away, she is never far from my thoughts.

Knitted in Flagstaff Alpacas’ 4 ply 100% alpaca in baby pink.  The pattern is called Golitha Falls Shawl, by Anniken Allis.  Both yarn and pattern are highly recommended!

Don’t forget to enter the giveaway from my previous post – there’s still time if you’d like the chance to win a copy of “Lit Knits”.

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

30 thoughts on “From Mum, with love.

  1. Just gorgeous.

  2. Gorgeous. She’s as lucky to have you as you are to have her.

  3. Beautiful shawl and beautiful post. Made me get teary-eyed…

  4. It is absolutely beautiful. A present made with love.

  5. Beautiful shawl and beautiful post. So many firsts that I have to look forward to with my girl… hopefully one day I can knit her a gorgeous shawl like this one.

  6. Your knitting is exquisite. I once read that parents walk around wearing their hearts on the outside of their body…..the agony and the ecstasy of the role.
    BTW, thank you for following my ordinarygood blog:-)

  7. Lovely and extremely pretty shawl. We will always know them as our babies. I’m sorry you miss her so.

  8. She’ll love it, a beautiful soft pink hug from her mum, lucky girl.
    I dyed a load of alpaca pink yesterday although its a colour I don’t use much myself it always sells well, so guess what’s on my knitting needles….

  9. Just beautiful.

  10. That’s such a beautiful sentiment, and I now miss my mum. 🙂

  11. What beautiful words and knitting. It will be perfect for the autumn weather that is just starting to tug at summer’s skirts here.

  12. Lovely shawl! Loved your post, being a mum of three teenagers I understand exactly what you wrote❤

  13. Wow.. A knitted snug embrace… guess she’ll love it !

  14. I feel your pain. I feel very lucky that both my children have returned from London to settle in New Zealand. My son after 7 years in London, he is now 32, and my daughter after 4 years in London.
    Hang in there. She will come home.

  15. I struggle with pink too. Society thinks I should like it, so for years I avoided it. I’m slowly allowing it back into my wardrobe.

  16. it looks beautiful – well done – and I particularly love the addition of the wee beads – a lovely finishing touch

  17. Oh, what a sweet post. You almost got me misty, and I’m not a mum.

  18. Beautiful. The colour’s very pretty – it adds to the delicateness of the shawl.

  19. Absolutely stunning!

  20. Pingback: Back on the addiction | tinkerbellknits

  21. she’s a very lucky girl!

  22. I’m not much on pink either, but that is LOVELY!

  23. As a serious pink fan I just love this and as soon as I saw it just had to order the yarn to make a shawl I have on my planned projects list. It is so beautiful, I am sure your daughter will love it.
    My daughter is overseas as well and loves getting the parcels with something I make for her in them. A way for us to share our love and them to feel it wrapped around them.

  24. I’m missing so many of you posts. I hardly have access to the Internet now I have moved up with Tim in his little cottage. Autumn has just arrived over her in England. That beautiful shawl will be just in time xx