Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Meet Zealana Air Chunky

7 Comments

If there ever was a yarn that was aptly named, Zealana’s AIR has to be one of them.  As light as air, as soft as down, it is an incredibly special yarn.

A few weeks ago, I was super lucky to be given a mini-skein of something new from Zealana, hitting the shelves as we speak.

Air Chunky!! Here it is below, excitedly knitted into my little swatch, glowing in the evening sunlight.

Zealana ChunkyOh My Gosh.  This is the yarn I have been fantasizing about for a while – something that is so light and airy and SOFT, yet “chunky” weight, able to carry both lace and cables, and not feel too heavy around your shoulders…  The first thing I thought of when I held this yarn was, “my next winter coat!”

Not only does Zealana Air Chunky have the same New Zealand brushtail possum down, silk and cashmere content as that of its little sister, but it has been constructed in a totally unique way using a multi-strand link structure developed especially by Woolyarns.  (It’s not the same spin as the laceweight Air.)

The resulting yarn is the lightest, softest, loftiest strand of yarn perfection you’ll meet for a long, long time.  It’s the equivalent of yarn soufflé.  Yet much stronger than a soufflé, due to the multi-strand chain link structure.

It is not cheap (my dreams of a coat went out the window when I heard the price), but then it is economical for what you get.  At 146m/159yd per 50g ball, that’s all you need for a nice cowl or hat in this yarn, knitted to a tension of between 15 – 18 sts per 4″ on 5.5mm – 6mm (US 9 – 10) needles.

It would make the perfect gift for that special someone at Christmas (or the perfect Christmas gift to a knitter), or the perfect pick-me-upper treat for yourself that is relatively affordable, and which will turn into a beautiful piece that you will love forever and look fabulous in forever (this yarn will not go out of shape, pill or look bad after a number of wears – it’s a keeper!)

It’s about the same cost as a ball of pure cashmere, or yak or buffalo down yarn, from what I understand, or perhaps even a bit less.

Have a look at this link to Zealana’s new website to see the nine glorious shades that Air Chunky.

I impatiently and eagerly await the moment I see in it the stores!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

7 thoughts on “Meet Zealana Air Chunky

  1. Gorgeous yarn. You can tell it’s super soft and luxurious.

  2. Just imagining a coat knitted in this yarn gets me excited! : )

  3. Bulky weight yarns are my favorite for winter accessories and gift giving. Looks lovely!

  4. Oh I am so looking forward to knitting with some “Air”, it looks gorgeous.

  5. I’ll look out for this. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Wouldn’t a knitted coat need to be lined if it’s to stop the wind blowing through?