Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Sustain the Sea: Tidal Hat

21 Comments

Today, I bring you the Tidal Hat. You’ll have seen a previous incarnation of this hat before on my blog, but I never had the motivation to write up the pattern.  It occurred to me that it would make a nice addition to Sustain the Sea, so here it is!

Tidal hat

This hat celebrates water and the sea, its ebb and flow, and the sandy beaches where rivers join the sea.  If we look after the quality of the water and air that goes into the sea, it will help the sea look after us.

The beach

This pattern depicts water as it ripples down the rivers to the sea, and the waves of sand left behind when the tide goes out.  Purl stitches reflect the grainy sand, and the reverse stocking stitch gives the hat a slight ‘slouch’.  The twisted stitches framing the ripples represent shells that are so much a part of the beach, and a visible reminder of the fragile balance of life in the sea.

Detail

The brim is knitted with a smaller needle to keep it from stretching too much over time, and allows the hat to hug the head so it is less likely to blow off in the wind!  The looser crown gauge makes a hat that is comfortable to wear and flatters the face.

Tidal hat 2

I encourage you to try the no-cable-needle method to knit the waves.  It’s very easy, and will save a lot of time and fiddling with cable needles!  Instructions on how to do this are contained in the pattern.  Magic loop with a long circular needle to knit the hat, and you’ll even be able to bind off the crown without changing to DPN needles.

I selected a beautiful, crisp New Zealand Corriedale yarn:  Anna Gratton’s Little Wool Co. pure wool naturals in Pumice, to reflect the colour of sand and shells and convey a sense of purity to the design. The structure of the spin has a liveliness that provides great stitch definition.  It’s one of my favourite New Zealand yarns – durable, comfortable, warm.

Using this wool is also a sustainable choice for me – it is a natural colour, and it has been grown, shorn, spun and now knitted all within a two hour’s drive from where I live in Wellington.  I’m very lucky to have access to such wonderful wool.

If you’d like to use the same yarn I chose, you can find it here, or email Anna Gratton direct at filaro AT farmside.co.nz.

Download the free pattern here: Free pattern: Tidal Hat or on Ravelry.

You’ll need:

50g (108m/118yd) DK weight yarn (suggested yarn is Anna Gratton Little Wool Co. 8 ply pure wool naturals in Pumice)

3.75mm (US 5) and 4.5mm (US 7) circular needles (or DPNS if you prefer)

Back viewMy thanks to the oldest boy for patiently taking photos for this pattern at the mouth of the Hutt River, where the river meets the sea.

River mouth

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

21 thoughts on “Sustain the Sea: Tidal Hat

  1. A good looking hat, nice pattern…yes our 8ply is good to hold a pattern up. I will put it up on our business facebook too 🙂

  2. I love how you’ve resolved the ribbing and brim transition. It looks even better that what we discussed! Great job.

  3. Lovely pics , lush hat , makes me feel a tad homesick if I’m honest !

    • I know what you mean. I used to take a billion pictures every time I came home for a holiday when I lived overseas. The scenery in New Zealand is very beautiful.

  4. Lovely pattern! I particularly like the crown.

  5. It’s gorgeous! I will download it immediately after this! Many thanks for this pattern😀

  6. wonderful how you present your knits! And the kits for sure , too!!!!!

  7. I just realised how many patterns you had up on Ravelry. Impressive!

  8. What a lively photo shoot and I like how you explained each part.

  9. Beautiful, I have had my eye on this since I first saw a picture of it on your blog. I find your Sustain the Sea initiative inspiring, thank you for sharing this pattern as part of it!

  10. Love it and has definitely gone onto my queue!! Thank you!

  11. Beautiful hat……

    I’m off to queue it!

  12. This is absolutely lovely. A very effective design!