Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

The Kiwi way

13 Comments

The sea is close to the hearts of most (if not all) New Zealanders.  Walk in to any work space or home in New Zealand, and it’s almost certain that you’ll see a picture of a treasured beach holiday on a desk or wall.  I don’t think there isn’t a Kiwi alive who doesn’t have fond memories of days at the beach.

beach holiday

The great annual summer shutdown is about to occur, when most businesses shut for two weeks over Christmas and New Year.  Thousands of (if not a million!) Kiwis are preparing to leave their city homes and descend on the beaches all over the country, for the simple bach* life and two weeks of sun and sea.

*the bach is the traditional Kiwi beach holiday cottage – usually a rudimentary affair with very basic bedrooms, kitchen, bathroom and living room, they are meant for sleeping in, and not much else – all other activity happens outside, where meals are cooked over the ‘barbie’ and eaten al fresco, and the day is spent “mucking around” on the beach, fishing, swimming, body surfing, digging holes and generally having fun.

The beach

This is a picture I took a few years back on one such summer holiday – the young boy is holding a handful of shellfish (pipi) he’d dug up from the sand.  They’re delicious, and especially so when cooked straight away over a fire on the beach, and seasoned with a dash of lemon juice and Tabasco sauce!  These ones were put back due to contamination concerns at the time.

Pipis

I’d go so far as to say that the beach and the sea are a part of the Kiwi soul.  Start to talk about limiting rights to access the beach, or catch sizes, and you get extremely passionate responses.

At the beach

It’s a good thing too.  If we continue to care, then hopefully it means that we will be mindful of looking after one of New Zealand’s greatest natural treasures.

I for one, especially love pottering around rock pools.  The first time I went to Makara Beach after I moved to Wellington, I thought I had discovered marine paradise.

Here, the rock pools are sheltered enough from the ocean swell that myriad sea life exists.  Standing on the rocks, you gaze into the crystal clear water at this:Sea garden

Let’s now come closer and see more…Neptune's necklace

The above is Neptune’s necklace.Seaweed

I’d love to know what this one is called.  I haven’t been able to find out yet.
ulva Lactuca

Sea lettuce (above) is apparently delicious, and I must try some soon.  Under the sea

The unspoilt beauty makes my heart sing and brings a sense of peace and happiness.  Not to mention that knitting inspiration abounds!Rock pools

We spend hours crouched over the pools, spotting the amazing forms of sea life…Sea life

Can you see the fish in this picture?  There are two of them.See the fish?

Notice the pink paint-like spots on the rocks?  That’s a crust-forming coralline algae, known as pink paint! This particular seaweed actually releases chemicals that encourage pāua (abalone) larvae to settle and mature.

Sea snails

Snail and limpets crawl slowly over the rocks, grazing on algae.

Just a bit further out at the edges of the rocks, abalone (pāua) and crayfish hide. On the weekends, the sea is alive with divers, who especially love to come and harvest them and the butterfish that flit in the kelp.  I only hope they don’t take too much.  Some times you see evidence of less than legal behaviour…

Undersize pauaThis is an undersized pāua that unfortunately got taken before it was of legal size. The divers remove them from their shells on the beach and throw the shells back into the sea in order to more easily hide their greed.

I feel especially protective of what we have in New Zealand, especially after living overseas and going to the beach, full of expectation at finding something like the above, only to see… nothing.  Just rocks, and sea.  It was horrifying.

Ah yes, the sea is indeed full of bountiful treasures and wonderful experiences.  Let us treasure what we have here, and never take it for granted.

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

13 thoughts on “The Kiwi way

  1. I’m originally from the UK and a few years ago I went home for a white Christmas. Even though I had an amazing time, when I got back we went straight from the airport to the beach! You just can’t beat it!

  2. Reblogged this on Gabbie 2013 blog.

  3. I’ve never experienced a warm Christmas that involved swimming or being in any proximity to water while outside. This whole southern hemisphere thing is so confusing 🙂

    • Isn’t it! My kids, who were born and brought up in the Northern Hemisphere call this “Wonderland” (as in Alice in Wonderland) because everything is the wrong way round to what they are used to!

  4. Lovely pics of your land.

  5. Aloha,

    As a beginning knitter, I’ve have yet to try a seamed garment. What do you use to sew on the buttons?

    Mahalo.

    • You can use either a fine yarn (sock yarn is good) or normal sewing thread. I have used both on different projects. The thing for me is that it’s always a good idea to have something to ‘stabilise’ the button otherwise it can pull the knitting too much and look awful. You can use a scrap of ribbon or tape (in my case you can see I’ve used a lace ribbon along the length of the button band in the Shepherd Hoodie) or a smaller, non-decorative button on the underside of the knitting to do this.

      > Date: Mon, 25 Nov 2013 18:57:27 +0000 > To: wsleong@hotmail.co.nz >

  6. Wow, I can see why you’d treasure the sea.. Those pictures are spectacular !

  7. Oh such lovely photos. The sea is what I miss most (apart from people) being away from NZ. You are doing a great job.

  8. ooh la la – isn’t it so pretty?!
    I’m loving drinking in the whole landscape at the moment, sea, hills, bush, everything. It’s in my bones.
    Summer Christmas – it’ll be the first for some of my kids 🙂

  9. we love rockpools too, and personally I find walking by the beach one of the best stress-busters ever.

  10. Your pictures make me yearn for New Zealand beaches again. Whenever I’d come over to visit my grandparents, we would spend many of our days down at the beach.

    You can find some of what you’ve shown near where I live. But you have to know where to find it.