Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Progress

10 Comments

My family has had a bit of sad news to deal with in the past couple of weeks. There has been a funeral, and a bit travelling.  It’s always a bit hard to know what to say or do in this situation, but I am glad we were together as a family, and there for the bereaved.

It seems a bit flippant to turn now to knitting… there wasn’t much time for it, but I think knitting is one of those things that provides a soothing sanctuary for the mind in times of distress.

I finished the knitting on my newest design.

New designThe tech editing is still to be done, but a release is not far off.  We shall see if I get to it before Christmas.  It’s a rather frantic time of year.

Things have a habit of jumping on to the needles.  This cowl has somehow made an unplanned appearance on the needles in the past couple of weeks…

"Bo" cowlIt’s another “Bo” cowl.  I am going to have to modify the design.  The yarn I originally knitted this in, a silk/wool/mohair blend is now discontinued, and the substitute merino/mohair behaves a little differently in the linen stitch.  I have added a row of knit between each slip stitch row, and it looks and feels a lot better (plus it’s much faster to knit now!)  I will show it to you properly when it’s finished.  I love the colourway though.  It’s called “Forest” and what you see above is an accurate colour representation.

There are a few other bits and bobs in the background.  I have gone ahead with knitting the lace hoodie in the yarn I showed you last time, and it is coming along nicely.  More on that another time.

There is a something in design on the needles in this beautiful Paua colourway in BFL/stellina sparkle/nylon from Doe Arnot.  It’s not on her felt site, but I think if you ask her nicely, she might have a skein or two tucked away somewhere.  Can you see how it’s exactly like the paua (abalone) shell? The pattern is still a few weeks from completion.

Paua

The lead up to Christmas is hotting up… I shall have to get my skates on and do some shopping and organising this weekend!  No gift knitting is planned.  I’ve gone on about it too much in past years, so I’m not going to repeat myself again as to why it doesn’t happen in a warm southern hemisphere Christmas.

How are things going at your end?  Hope all is well with you and your families.

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

10 thoughts on “Progress

  1. The Bo is looking good 🙂

  2. I’m sorry for the loss in your family…
    It doesn’t seem flippant to me to turn to knitting on such a moment though; I always find it very soothing, easing out my mind a bit.

    Both the cowl and the Paula yarn look beautiful ! ( the design too, quite curious what it looks like in full 🙂 )

    Over at this end things are okay and quite relaxed; I’m not much for festivities and will be working at Christmas and New Year’s Day, so I have no hodliday preps to worry about. Wish I could knit as quick as you though.. Well, practice makes perfect it says, so I have an excellent excuse to spend this afternoon at my ocuch 🙂

  3. Knitting can be so very therapeutic, particularly in unhappy times. I hope it brings you moments of peace and lovely memories.

    I live on the east coast of the U.S., and we’ve had three snowstorms in the past week and colder temperatures (highs ranging from -2 to 4º C). I’ve had many evenings in front of the fireplace with knitting in hand. All of my shopping has been done, but I’m knitting a hat for a friend to give her daughter on Christmas morning, which is the only time sensitive thing on my agenda. Last week was quite hectic, and I’m hosting a dinner party for 10 on Friday, but it’s lovely to have friends around during the holidays so this is no hardship!

  4. I’m so sorry for your loss. Knitting definitely helps at those times. It’s a white Christmas in Colorado, with long evenings knitting by a fire. Beautiful but cold. My daughter has decorated the house inside and out this year, where I normally just throw some lights on a large Star Pine in the living room. It’s making me feel almost festive!

  5. I thought you’d been a bit quiet on the blog. So sorry there has been sadness
    from bereavement. Thank goodness we can keep our hands occupied with something soothing when our hearts are sore. Look forward to seeing more of this knitting.
    Yes I will put some ‘Paua’ skeins of yarn up on the ‘Felt’ shop site. Best wishes, Doe.

  6. The new design your working on looks lovely! And the color of that yarn is really perfect.

  7. Sorry to hear about your bereavement. Knitting is wonderful therapy for just about anything (except maybe OOS).

  8. Ooh, fuzzy warmness! The abalone shell inspired colorway is terrific. I’ve been knitting madly away on gifts with Vampire Diaries ad my accompaniment.

  9. I’m sorry to hear about the sadness in your family. I think knitting is a perfect way to meditate through it.

    I’m also not knitting gifts this year. But it’s mostly because after the Dad sweater, I felt that I earned some selfish knitting time.

  10. Sorry to hear of your loss. I think knitting has proved to be a soothing ‘distraction’ for many. I could imagine that gift-knitting is hard to accomplish in the southern hemisphere!