Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Re-knits with a difference

11 Comments

It has been a while since I talked about new NZ indie yarnie discoveries.  Time for a catch-up, as I have some beauties to tell you about over the next few posts!

I did not think that there could be so much variety of sock yarn bases out there, but after these recent discoveries, I have come away very excited by all these new possibilities!

Today, I’d like to tell you about a new yarn from Travelling Threads.  You may remember that I mentioned seeing some of Catherine’s yarn a while ago at a Creative Fibre festival, and I’ve been watching her website with interest to see when she’d start offering her yarns for sale online.

Well, a little while ago, I saw this!  (Click on the Re-Knits tab).  Oh wow!!!  That is original!!  Literally hand-painted yarn!  A small amount of hyper-ventilation may have occurred at this end…  I love the name she’s given this sock yarn – Re-knits.  Of course, I just had to order a couple… in the interests of discovery, of course…

Re-knits

Re-knits is from a base that Catherine has had spun in New Zealand from 55% superwash Merino, 25% Mulberry Silk and 20% Nylon, and is approx. 340 metres (371 yard) per 100 grams.  This yarn is a heavy sock weight, and my opinion is that it will probably knit socks best on 2.5mm – 2.75mm needles. The blanks are knitted on a knitting machine, and she then hand-paints her original designs on to them.

I happened to contact her at the same time she was about to dye some more, and she made the offer of doing a custom job for me.  Of course, I had to say yes.  I asked her to do something in the colours of the earth in browns and greens, and this is her interpretation.  Love it!!!  I can’t wait to see how this turns out knitted!

More re-knitsThe yarn comes with a small instruction sheet which explains how it can be used.  If you have a look at the top picture, you’ll see that the two “pieces” of yarn are separated by a blank layer, so you’ll always know how much yarn is left, and don’t have to worry about running out of yarn for the second sock.

You start by finding the button…

Button startthen you unravel the beginning yarn, and pull, and knit!

This concept really appeals to my macabre love of ripping back.  There is something just so satisfying at being able to pull with abandon and watch all those little stitches coming out.

As this yarn is hand-painted in two separate pieces, you won’t get two socks that are identical.  But I think those of us who love hand-dyed yarn are already quite okay with that concept.  Of course, you don’t have to knit socks either.  This yarn would be very suitable for any small project, like a hat or mittens or even a baby thing.

The earth colourway in particular has a great ‘knit me’ pull.  I am trying to justify to myself the rationale for putting a fourth pair of socks on the needles.  I’m sure that it will be fine… in the interests of discovery of course! 😉

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

11 thoughts on “Re-knits with a difference

  1. I may have seen this company before. What a cool and creative concept. One sees how it’ll knit up beforehand which can be helpful.

    • actually the colours get all mixed up once it is knitted. However, the surprise is that you have no idea what effect you’re going to get, depending on what you knit. You will see more on my blog shortly… 🙂

      > Date: Fri, 24 Jan 2014 21:58:00 +0000 > To: wsleong@hotmail.co.nz >

  2. Ohhh… They’ll be fun to knit up, almost wish I was a sock knitter, maybe interesting to weave with too.

  3. What a clever idea ! Love all the creative indie yarns around !

  4. Gosh there are some clever and creative folk out there

  5. Do we ever need another reason to cast on another pair of socks? It is too hard not to when you have those amazing indie yarns like the one above!

  6. I love Catherine’s work with dyeing – she has some wonderful, innovative ideas and her hand-dyed fibre is just gorgeous

  7. All I can say is, “Knit all the socks!” You can never have too many.

  8. This is VERY interesting. and your Smaug socks look lovely! : )

  9. Pingback: The February socks | Kiwiyarns Knits