Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

The February socks

20 Comments

It’s Chinese New Year today.  In Cantonese, the traditional greeting is “Kung Hei Fatt Choy!”  It means “Wishing you much happiness and prosperity!”

When this greeting is made to an older person, it the queue for older person (mother, father, uncle, aunt, grandma, friends of parents, etc) to present said young person with a “lai see” packet (or good luck money packet).  They are always red or gold, in customary Chinese good luck colours.

Lai see packets can be very beautiful, and some are art in themselves.

Lai See packets

As it is customary to spend the first days of Chinese New Year visiting friends and family, this new year ritual was quite a boost to one’s piggy bank when I was younger, and it was the one time of the year when I was particularly excited about to going to visit my father’s relations!! I have carried on the tradition of “lai see” in my household, much to my children’s joy (although sadly there are no other ‘senior’ people to help fill their coffers in NZ).  🙂

So to all of you, I wish you “Kung Hei Fatt Choy”, and may much happiness, luck, health and prosperity come to you in the Year of the Horse.

On to the business on socks now…I am not quite sure how it happened, but I managed to complete three pairs of socks in January.  I’ll have to show you the third pair (which I’m very happy about) after the recipient receives them though.

I’ve been thoroughly infected with ‘sockitis’… I can’t seem to stop knitting all the socks!! I meant to start my new socks tomorrow, but appear to have suffered a complete lapse of understanding of my calendar, and have already started them.  For February, the following socks are already on the needles:

I thought I’d show you these – they are the plain vanilla socks I’m knitting from the Re-knits I got from Travelling Threads.  I feel a bit spacey… socks being created out of an already knitted piece… how cool is that!?  See how the socks look completely different once knitted?

Re-knits in Earth

The yarn is indeed a little thicker than normal sock yarn, so I have cast on 60 stitches using 2.5mm needles.  I think they’ll do fine.  I am really loving the feel of this yarn. The silk is adding a very nice textural quality to the fabric.  I think that after wool, silk has to be my next favourite fibre for a knitting yarn.

The final of the trio of patterns from Mia Dehmer is finally on my needles after a very long wait.  Meet Oden:

Oden socks

Named after the oldest, greatest and wisest of the Aesir gods, I thought a nice strong colourway would suit the theme for this sock.  It’s in Verandah Yarns’ 100% NZ merino sock base in the colourway Cromwell.  It fits the bill perfectly.  I’m also very happy that Sally has re-opened her etsy shop again and am looking forward to more satisfied purchases from her once I knit down more of my sock stash!

The sockitis bug is so strong that I have been rendered incapable of knitting other things for long without quickly returning to the pretty socks… let us see how long that lasts!  In the meantime, I’m humming through the sock stash quite nicely.  Which is a very good thing as there are so many other lovely New Zealand sock yarns out there that also need a place in my home!  😀

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

20 thoughts on “The February socks

  1. Good for you to recycle your yarn I have done this myself. “Kung Hei Fatt Choy” back to you..Jan

  2. “Kung Hei Fatt Choy” to you too. I was born in the year of the Horse….quite some time back now….perhaps it will be a really good year for me?
    Your production line is impressive!

  3. Gong Xi Fa Cai! (Mandarin perhaps, we lived in Singapore) I love the cable on Oden. You should join the Socks with Sarah KAL – the aim is to knit socks every day 😉

  4. Wow, super socks. Those re-knit green ones are a blast! And Happy New Year of the horse to you too.

  5. Kung Hei Fatt Choy! “It’s Chinese New Year today!” as my 5 year old bellowed on getting out of bed and looking at her Dr Who calendar. May you and your family have a wonderful year.

    Beautiful socks, as always!

  6. Much happiness and prosperity to you and your family for this new year! I love your socks ~ I must get cracking on mine!! xo

  7. I agree, there are indeed many wonderful New Zealand sock yarns to knit from. Speaking of which, have you tried out any of that Stray Cat yarn you bought yet? I’ve been eyeing her shop since you showed it. The problem is that there are so many great colorways…. Jaffa, Silver Star, Blue Moon. If only I had extra hands that could devote themselves to knitting socks.

    • Good timing that you ask., One was reluctantly put into my queue to knit only last week. They seem too nice to knit, but at the same time, I want to see how it looks!!! I should be able to knit them later this month.

  8. Gung Hay Fat Choy, Sun Nin Fai Lo, Xin Nin Kwai Le! My girls are off today, so we’re having lunch with my parents and then visiting my PauPau. Tomorrow we’re going to try to visit my great aunt.

  9. Happy Chinese New Year.
    I love the intricate twists of Oden.

  10. Happy CNY to you too!
    Hope you’ll be watching the parade thru town tomorrow. My daughter and her dance group will be in it and performing later on.

  11. Sockitis must be catching, because I seem to have it also.

    I love the way the re-knit is workiing up. Those one-row stripes are so much fun.

    Happy New Year to you! The Year of the Horse is looking like a good year, I’d say. So nice that you can start it with both knitting and tradition.

  12. I like the way the sock blank is knitting up! Knitpicks sells things like that, as well. I’ve always wondered how it would affect gauge to knit with pre-knitted yarn and not wash the kinks out first. Your sock is looking lovely so far, though.

    • Interesting! I had never seen sock yarn sold like that although I know of others who dye it as a blank and then re-skein it afterwards. The kinks are not affecting my gauge at all. If anything, it’s the slightly thicker yarn and with silk/nylon content that has has made me make some modifications to stitch count.