Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Something about cats

8 Comments

One only has to look at all the photos of knitters’ kitties on Ravelry and various knitting blogs to see there is some sort of connection between cats and knitters.  Must be something about the soft, tactile cat, who loves a cuddle, and will happily lie in your lap for hours as you while away the time knitting soft, tactile yarn… a perfect match. (Except when too much fur gets stuck in the yarn!)

And now, we even get dyers naming their brands in honour of the cat. You may have seen me mention a sock yarn brand recently with “cat” in its name.  Today, I bring you another:

Soft Like Kittens is the brainchild of Annette, a talented Auckland-based, New Zealand indie dyer whom I have been aware of being in business for over a year. Initially, I resisted buying as was put off by the nylon content in the yarn. (It has taken me a while to get over ‘not 100% wool’ sock yarn.  100% wool is still my favoured sock yarn base of all time).  However, the desire to know all about New Zealand yarns/yarnies made me cave…

Soft Like Kittens yarn

I’m such a sucker for pretty colours!  What you see above is some of her Noodle Sock (75% wool, 25% nylon) in the Driftwood colourway (I’m developing a bit of a ‘thing’ for brown shades at the moment) and Double Helix Sock (a super twist 80% wool, 20% nylon) in Folklore.

I’m constantly amazed at how colour can be so diverse, and how each indie dyer’s dyeing technique adds a new take to colour, to make what they produce uniquely theirs.  Annette creates some very-lovely-indeed shades, ranging from lusciously dark and mysterious, energetically bright and vibrant and through to soft, misty pastels.  Have a look at her website to see the five different bases she regularly works with (ranging from sock to DK weight), including a sampling of her beautiful colourways.  You can also find a link to her video podcast and Ravelry group there.

Etsy updates are currently done every Tuesday morning NZ time, and it’s worth checking in to see what’s on offer… the colours go quite quickly.

As with a number of other New Zealand indie dyers, Annette’s yarns are not New Zealand spun due to the relatively small volume of yarn she uses and her base yarn preferences.  However, it is great to see local talent offering variety to the knitting market, and I am happily planning more socks in pretty Soft Like Kittens yarn.

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

8 thoughts on “Something about cats

  1. I just love seeing what yarns New Zealand has to offer. And each post tempts me just a little more. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to knit my stash down.

    • I think I’ve got to the point where I am comfortable if I’m just cycling through them. If a new skein replaces the “old” one, then that’s okay, as long as I’m getting through it. 😀

  2. The origin of the yarn base is the thing that interests me too. A fellow knitter at our Weds night L’Oisivethe group is an indie dyer and I’ve asked her about the source of yarns, what she gets to choose from and how much info she has about its provenance. I like to know, and while I would love it to be NZ, I’m ok if it’s not…..I just like to know.
    Thanks for this info, I had seen the Soft-as-kitten website and wondered about that. While I am on this side of the world I’m trying out Northern hemisphere yarns, the NZ yarns really tempt me though. I’m with you on 100%wool preference.

  3. Thanks for sharing this beautiful yarn. I think I will treat myself to some of this and bring a little of New Zealand into my life. The colors are amazing!!!

  4. Driftwood is awesome.

  5. These look lovely ~ looking forward to hearing more about what you think of these yarns.

  6. Thanks for telling us about this brand. I love the colours she uses