Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Oh my Bleating ‘Art!

18 Comments

Colours.  So evocative.  So seductive.  So inspiring! How often have we clutched our chest at the sight of a beautiful yarn, breathed an admiring sigh, and murmured something like “Be still my beating heart!”?

Today, I want to tell you about a just-begun, New Zealand indie yarn venture that is worthy of its name, Bleating Art. (The connection to “beating heart” is my own playful twist of words.) This is a mother-daughter enterprise between the lovely Alice, whom many of you will remember from her former “Crochet with Raymond” blog (you may have already also found her again on IG), and her mum Denise, who has been knitting for 50 years, and spinning for 35!

If you are familiar with Alice’s wonderful sense of colour, it will be no surprise to see the absolutely sparkling bright colours of the first dye batch to come out of the pots!

Here’s a pic of some of those pretties (courtesy of Bleating Art’s facebook page).

Bleating Art yarns

This is my pick, called Tui (which Alice very kindly set aside for me because I personally do not like buying on Facebook).

Tui, Bleating Art

The yarn is an 80% merino, 20% nylon base, spun in New Zealand.  It is being marketed as a sock yarn, but there is nothing to stop you from knitting what you want with it. 

When I first saw a sock yarn of the same spin (two ply, and quite loose compared to most sock yarns) I was worried that it would not perform under the rigours of sock wearing. However, having knitted a pair of socks with a base that is very similar, my fears have been allayed, as this yarn produces a lovely squishy sock that wears well and has good stitch definition.  It does not feel like 100% wool in the hand, but then it’s not ‘squeaky’ nylon either.  It’s a good addition to New Zealand’s stable of sock yarns.

The cute labels are the artwork of Alice’s artistically talented partner, KB.  Aren’t they just adorable!?

artworkThe plan is to have the yarn physically for sale at Denise’s shop in Wellington, the Karori Flower Shop (98 Karori Road, Karori, Wellington, T: (04) 476 2255).  The store is both a florist and a yarn store, and currently sells a small range of yarns that Denise particularly likes.  The hand-dyed yarns are meant to complement the selection of what is already available.  However, unsurprisingly, this first batch of beautiful colours was so popular that the yarn practically sold out after it was soft-launched on facebook!

Another dye batch is planned in late March, and this time there will be a lot more skeins on offer (hopefully some will make it into the shop!)  If you want to ensure you don’t miss out on the next dye lot, do make sure to “like” their facebook page, or join the Bleating Art Ravelry group for news of updates.

In the meantime, I’m busily eyeing up suitable patterns for this scrummy yarn.  I think I might knit these.  (Pattern inspiration also from Alice, whose own socks in this pattern are gorgeous!)

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

18 thoughts on “Oh my Bleating ‘Art!

  1. This yarn really looks yummy! And the colors look fantastic😊

  2. How great to hear of the colour-filled Alice again. I had lost track of her. Those colours are so Alice and so vibrant.
    Can I reblog your post here to my koruknits blog please?

  3. Reblogged this on Koru knits and crafts and commented:
    With thanks to Kiwiyarns Knits for her post I have reblogged here with her kind permission.

  4. I was lucky enough to snap up ‘Kokako’. It is an absolutely beautiful colourway and I am going to knit a hat out of it. These ladies are certainly very talented!

  5. I am lucky enough to have 4 glorious skeins (I have knit a cowl from 1) of this yarn. It is marvellous to work with and the colours are wonderful. I recommend it wholeheartedly.

  6. Beautiful colors! Love the labels. 🙂

    Hey, I thought of you when I read this…It’s about seaweed, not yarn, but I thought you would be happy to know that New Zealand has great seaweed…in these tests for heavy metals, Wakame from New Zealand as the cleanest by far…

    http://www.naturalnews.com/043871_seaweeds_heavy_metals_wakame.html

  7. I’m so glad to hear about Alice & Denise’s newest venture. Have missed Alice & her colorful world. Please pass along that we are happy to see her well & back in the yarn world. Good luck to Alice & her mother.

  8. Just gorgeous!! Can’t wait to see what you do with them. Also have some good news: the box was found!!!! I’ll get your shawl mailed as soon as I have it in my hands.