Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

The latticework cowl

18 Comments

Today, I’m delighted to release the pattern for the Latticework Cowl.

Latticework in Maniototo Wool

This cowl was knitted in the round from just less than one skein of Maniototo Wool in the Tussock colourway.  The yarn shows up the latticework cables beautifully – you can see the latticework fencing inspiration for this design in the background.

The design can be worn two ways – turned down for those warmer days when you prefer a bit of air around the neck, and full length, when insulation against the wind and cold are a premium consideration!

Latticework cowl turned down

The cowl takes around 180m of worsted weight/aran/10 ply yarn.  It’s a great stash buster, taking only one 100g skein of yarn and (I hope you agree) it’s a stylish addition to the winter wardrobe.  I’ve been wearing mine this week now that the weather has finally turned – and feeling rather grand!

Thanks again to the eldest boy for the photographs.

Here’s a detailed picture of the patterning:

Latticework cowl detail

This pattern is free with purchase of yarn from Maniototo Wool.  Mary will give you a code that you can use on Ravelry to download the pattern for free or the pattern can be emailed to you.  (If you have already purchased yarn from Mary and would like this pattern, you may also request the code from her).

The pattern is also available for purchase as a standalone pattern here.  The price is NZ$3.50.

 

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

18 thoughts on “The latticework cowl

  1. Wow, congratulations, your cowl looks fabulous 🙂 soft snuggly & warm, everything you could possibly need for winter

  2. this is one that will go on my list to make for me next winter! I love it.

  3. Beautiful and the colour looks great on you too. I enjoyed meeting Mary in Dunedin this last weekend and buying some yarn,

  4. What a stunning cowl Wei. The color is delicious and the detailed stitch is very flattering. I think the color was a great choice, it really shows off the latticework well. Another beautiful design. xoRobin

  5. I absolutely love it, and can’t wait to make mine. Thank you so much for the design

  6. Lovely! I like cowls that aren’t too baggy and saggy – that one looks great *and* warm.

  7. What a fun pattern! I’m not sure I’ve seen cables ever done that way…. until now.

  8. The cowl looks fab. My only problem is now that I’ve seen it it reminds me of strips of pastry on a fruit pie and I really fancy eating one. Here in the UK it’s 11pm so not exactly your usual pie eating time! It looks a really fun pattern, maybe a little tricky but very effective.

  9. Reblogged this on handmadehomemadeknitstitchdesign and commented:
    I like this cowl.

  10. I like this very much. It reminds me of pastry pie strips!

  11. I like how it stands up and hugs plus protects your neck well. This is a sweet color on you.