Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Alice’s Mitts

7 Comments

Hello!!

Just dropping in to let you know that Alice’s Mitts are now live on Ravelry.  This link will take you through to the pattern if you’d like to make a pair of your own!

Alice's mitts

These fingerless mitts are knit in the round using 2.5mm DPN needles and feature alternate slanting cables for each hand to give the mitts a balanced look. Knit the cuff/arm to the length you want before beginning the thumb gusset.

Size to fit the average medium sized woman’s hand, approximately 21cm/8” at widest point excluding thumb.

Measurement of pictured mitts is approx. 19cm/7½” long and used approx 55g of Ashford Mackenzie 4 ply 100% merino wool.

Sizing can be easily adjusted for fit by using 2.25mm/US 1 needles for smaller or 2.75mm/US 2 needles for larger hands.

Use whatever fingering weight (4 ply) yarn you fancy to knit these mitts! For luxury, why not try a squishy possum, alpaca or cashmere yarn!

Alice's mitts again

On this side of the planet, we’re about to experience our first week of proper winter weather, with snow forecast for the mountains and chilly temps for the rest.  I’m looking forward to rugging up in my winter woollens at last!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

7 thoughts on “Alice’s Mitts

  1. Wow !
    They’re in my favorites now 🙂 Will likely go back to them when the weather will get cooler again.
    Hope you’ll enjoy the snow and wollen goods, up here I’m waiting for the proper summer temps to arrive…
    ( and feeling a slight urge to suddenly cast on a bunch of summer tops… ‘thankfully’ I haven’t got the proper yarn at hand…hihi.. )

  2. Thank you! Just downloaded the pattern, and will be spending the oncoming cold weather knitting up some of the fabulous wool I bought at the Social Wool Fair. Can’t wait!

  3. These are pretty mitts. I like how you texturized the thumb.

  4. Gorgeous I’ll have to check out the pattern!!

  5. It looks like they are all done just in time to keep you warm! Over on my bit of the planet, we are in tank tops and shorts. I can only look at my warm woolen socks for now.