Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Touched

20 Comments

The reaction to the Anemone socks has been incredible.  I have been feeling quite overwhelmed by how much you like them… I never expected the pattern to achieve the no.1 “hot now” spot on Ravelry!!  Thank you so much for downloading the pattern, and all your super lovely comments about the socks.

Sometimes it is hard to know if a chosen design direction is the right way to go.  To receive your affirmation is very reassuring.

I realise that winter is the time when my brain kicks into creative mode, and I have so many ideas for patterns at the moment that my note books are getting quite full!   Let us see how many of them reach the light of day!

In the meantime, I thought I’d show you my version of Alice’s Mitts.

Alice's Mitts

 

Do not worry, the car was parked when I took these pictures.  I just thought it might be nice to show the mitts in action!

Alice's Mitts

I used a similar yarn base to Vintage Purls’ sock yarn, a base that was dyed by Alice in the inaugural dye lot for Bleating Art.  I love it so much! Such a beautiful gun metal grey with wonderfully even variegation.  It seemed fitting to use her yarn for the pattern that she inspired.

Alice's Mitts

I knitted these one repeat longer than shown in the original pattern as I like my mitts to go fully up the sleeve for wind insulation (the cuff is only just out of the picture under my sleeve).  I also finished the mitts with slightly less ribbing than I suggested in the pattern.  The ribbing measures about 1cm, or half an inch in this version.

It has been coooold this week, and I fully appreciated the bit of warmth around my hands this morning.  I also liked how for once, I had a coordinating accessory to go with my clothes!

I leave you with a picture of the latest yummy yarn to arrive in my mailbox to fill the hole in my stash from using the yarn above… (terrible, aren’t I!?)

Doespins 100% supertwist BFL

This is one skein of high twist 100% BFL yarn in the Wild Rice colourway from Doespins.  Nom, nom, I wonder how long it will be before I find myself needing to cast on with it!

 

 

 

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

20 thoughts on “Touched

  1. I’m glad you said that the car was parked. It really looks like you are driving.

    And I’m so happy that you made it to the top of the Hot Right Now list. I hope to do the same one day. It’s a real cause to celebrate.

  2. Love the mitts and the socks! In our climate those mitts work all winter. Think I’ll knit a pair!!

  3. I see that unpleasant weather in the background of your photos. Good knitting weather.
    And extra congrats on the success with your pattern.

  4. Coveting that skein. Great mitts. I like how you showed them how you’d use them. Ho’omaka’i on hitting that number one spot on Rav.

  5. I’m anxious to begin anemone, and just cast of the second of a pair of socks last night. I might try to do them in worsted though. i’ll let let you know if that works out!

    • I am interested to hear how that works!

      • I was looking over the pattern last night. I think this will work. when I make socks of worsted (ok, I really only make worsted socks because I work outside and don’t like my feet to be cold in the winter), I cast on 40 stitches with size 3 or 4 US needles. Your pattern should translate well for that, though I think i’ll only do the patterning on the leg, since once I get into the heel flap and gussets I’m working over 20 stitches.

        I’m pretty sure I’m going to cast on today for this. Totally stealing the wool I had earmarked for another pair of socks (owl socks I started and made too tight, ripped out to follow the pattern a bit more to give me some ease.) The owlie birds can wait, as they’ve been waiting forever now. Will definitely let you know how I make out.

      • 40 stitches too tight, trying 56. will keep you posted. I am enchanted with this pattern

      • I’m so glad to hear you like it! 🙂 I am fairly sure 56 stitches will be completely fine.

  6. I love those mitts! Just put the pattern in my queue.

  7. Congrats with your socks (not surprising though:)! I’ve been admiring your socks over and over again.
    And these mits look so great too!
    I’m very interested in that notebook of yours …. very exciting.

  8. Absolutely beautiful mitts. The yarn is gorgeous and looks so warm and soft! Thank goodness you have new yarn to fill your missing yarn slot!!! Can’t wait to see what clicks off your needles this time!
    Loved your socks too!, xoRobin

  9. Just lovely – and an elegantly simple way to make a pair of fingerless mittens stand out! We’ve been having a small heat wave here in the Pacific Northwest of the U.S., so I’m not exactly in the mood to knit woolens right now … but once it gets cooler … 🙂