Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

A knitter’s midwinter

23 Comments

Hello!!!  I hope this post finds you well in your respective parts of the world, and looking forward to the start of the weekend.  Here in Wellington, we enjoyed a sprinkling of snow and a heap of hail today, and now it is a c-c-c-c-coooooold evening!!  Perfect weather to snuggle up next to the fire with one’s knitting!!  I hear that things are even better in the South Island with lots of snow… hope you are all staying warm!

This week has been such an exciting one in the knitting sense.  I managed to finish not one, but three(!) projects!

First up is Nurmilintu:  This is lovely little free pattern almost knits itself.  I am very happy with my yarn choice (alpaca/silk from Flagstaff Alpacas and Doespins) as it complements both the lace pattern and the drape beautifully.

NurmilintuIt sits around my neck as I type this, a lovely soft cloud of warmth to keep out the winter chill.

Last night, I finished the Noro Silk Garden socks that I have been knitting for a while.  They were my ‘waiting for the boy’ socks – knitted while waiting for him to come out of school and during his swimming lessons.

Noro socks

My sons do not like them, and made derogatory comments about how they look old (that’s the silk) and not very colour coordinated.  Too bad.  I think they are lovely, and deliberately made them non-identical.  It is a bit disconcerting to look down and see two differently coloured socks peeking out from under one’s jeans though! I knitted the socks with the yellow cuff first, and was disappointed when I got to the end and found the pretty pink and purple colour would be missed out.  So I started the next sock where the first one left off, and I rather like that colour combination better.  The heavier weight of this yarn has made them lovely and squooshy to wear too!  I might just have to knit more Noro socks…

And finally, and very excitingly, I have finished Seadragonus!

Seadragonus

Seadragonus will be released in the next week or so.  The pattern has been written, and I just have to make final edits.  I designed this pattern to give my brain a rest after another pattern that I have just finished (I’ll have to tell you about that one another time).  It’s an easy, playful pattern, designed to mimic the larger back scales and smaller belly scales typical in a reptile, and give the general impression of… a dragon!

This pattern marks the start of a couple of sea-themed patterns.  Shark week is coming up, and I aim to produce a sock pattern that highlights the issues surrounding the ocean’s sharks.  It will be part of my Sustain the Sea collection, and therefore a free pattern.  I’ve been silent on the subject of the sea for a while, and not because it is no dearer to my heart.  It’s just that the issues in fishing and the state of the sea became too painful to talk about, and I had to take a break.  Time to get a grip!

On a brighter note, have you seen soknitsome’s most recent post?  She talks about a very worthy cause that we can all participate in to raise funds for literacy.  It’s as simple as logging the number of pages you read every day.  I could not imagine a world without words, and yet there are still millions of people deprived of this simple right.  Go on – have a read! 🙂

Wishing you a lovely weekend.

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

23 thoughts on “A knitter’s midwinter

  1. My silk garden socks were some of my favourites and they lasted better than I expected; was so disappointed when they died completely.

  2. I have the perfect wool to knit up the Seadragonus! I am so looking forward to casting them on, when you release the pattern!! 🙂

  3. Oh, those socks are wonderful ! Great job again 🙂
    And I like the noro socks too, never tried any myself ( yet ), but I admit to curiosity…
    As for the reading, I’ll look into it and if it really is that simple, than there’s absolutely no reason not to participate, is there ?

    • Thank you! The Noro socks are quite different to the normal sock yarn, and I really like it. It also knits so quickly – you need at least 2.75mm needles, if not 3mm, and therefore less stitches as well. Have a look at my notes on Rav if you want a reminder when/if you do knit your own Noro socks!

      Date: Fri, 8 Aug 2014 11:01:22 +0000 To: wsleong@hotmail.co.nz

  4. I love all of these! That shawl is so lovely, and there’s something about having lace panels function as stripes that makes the FO incredibly wearable.
    Your socks are so fun. I think fraternal pairs are a fun change (and, for some, a challenge), and I really like the way your scale pattern moves across the Seadragonus socks. They look like a fun knit.

  5. Great knits! Silk can be a little rustic-looking sometimes but I think your socks are fabulous!

  6. Oh snow in Wellington….! Keep warm and enjoy knitting. I like your socks non-matching, funny how we are conditioned to needing them to match. It’s good to be a bit random. And I like the dragon scales, that heel flap looks very clever on them.

    • Unfortunately just enough to be slushy rain, but we did get a sprinkling on the Rimutakas, and I think more is forecast for today. It’s certainly properly winter here this weekend!! 🙂 It is funny how we are conditioned to like certain things. I agree with you. It’s good to mix things up sometimes.

      Date: Fri, 8 Aug 2014 19:58:43 +0000 To: wsleong@hotmail.co.nz

  7. I love the heel you’ve put on the Seadragonus socks. Seeing the heel makes me think that I might need to break away from my usual slip stitch heel flap.

    • I have started to think that too. The heel is a very fun place to play with interest factor, and I think that if you have enough socks, and aren’t going to use them to go hiking in, it doesn’t really matter if that part is not made extra durable.

      Date: Fri, 8 Aug 2014 21:51:35 +0000 To: wsleong@hotmail.co.nz

  8. I don’t care if my socks are matchy-matchy. I think that’s part of the fun of knitting socks with self-striping.

  9. Your two-colour nurmilintu us lovely!

  10. The shawl is lovely! I like the deep contrast of the light and dark colors. Your silk socks have character. I like the nubbiness and how they don’t match. I see socks like same gender twins. One shouldn’t expect them to be identical in manners and appearance just because they’re twins.

  11. I bought some nice Noro silk garden sock in a lovely blue green colour way. I was going to use it on my cardigan which uses 4ply – then realised that “sock” doesn’t necessarily mean 4-ply. so now I’m making a leafy scarf with it (from Botanical Knits 2).

  12. The power of three… and a triple treat to get them all finished.

  13. I am new to this blog but I am really enjoying reading all the knitting news from everyone. I am only an amateur knitter but having read about yarn which contains 30%- 40% possum fur, I have decided I would like to knit a ladies vest for myself in 8ply, in one of these yarns. Not knowing how they knit up compared to 100%wool I would like some help re the amount to buy. I will be using a Paton’s Totem pattern which says I will need 10 X 50gm balls which has 91 mtrs to the ball. Do you think I will need the same amount using one of the possum yarns? The pattern is mostly Stocking Stitch. I will be visiting NZ in October (on a cruise around NZ) and hope to choose and buy my yarn when I go ashore in one of the ports we call into.
    Any help I can get will be very much appreciated. I live in Brisbane and vests are ideal for the few winter months we have here. Also, any yarn suggestions would be most helpful.
    Thank you Kiwiyarns for your fabulous blog which I now subscribe to.
    Best wishes,
    ShirleyN.

    • Thanks for your lovely comments. 🙂 In relation to possum yarn, if you need 500gms of Totem, that is a total of 910 metres. As I’m not sure which ports you are calling into, my suggestion is to have a look at the ball band of the possum yarn you come across, and buy enough to equate to 910 metres. You will definitely need less balls that Totem. I highly recommend Zealana Rimu. Another possible is Supreme Possum Merino, although bear in mind that it is a slightly thicker yarn and you’ll have to watch the tension. It is beautiful to knit with though. I do not know if you’ll get anywhere near Mohair Craft (Auckland) but their cashmere/merino/possum blend is also heavenly. Those would be my three fav. picks for accessible possum yarns. I hope you find some when you are here (in Wellington both Knit World and Holland Road Yarn Co. stock possum yarn). Have a nice cruise!

      • Thank you so much for your help with possum yarns and especially the info’ regarding needing less than if I used Totem. That was one thing I wondered about since I had no knowledge of knitting with anything other than wool. We call into a number of ports both in the Nth and Sth Island so I will research on the net where my most convenient yarn shop is to one of the ports which sells one of the possum yarns you suggested. Thank you again and I do appreciate having some expert knowledge to assist me in getting started using, what sounds like a cosy yarn to work with, and wear.
        Best wishes,
        ShirleyN.