Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Seadragonus

11 Comments

Beware the fearsome Seadragonus Giganticus Maximus!  One of the most fearsome of all the dragons in the book series “How to Train Your Dragon“, it is my favourite dragon because the Seadragonus was the personal dragon of each of the Hiccups in history.  Highly intelligent, with a huge, fearsome personality and a huge dash of cuteness (in the case of Toothless, in any event), they come in blue, green or purple – all my favourite sock colours!  I decided to name my dragon-inspired sock after the Seadragonus.

Seadragonus

With thanks to the eldest boy for a great photography job again.

When I first designed this sock, I was only going to release it in a standard medium size.  But then I thought about the amount of questions I got for Anemone relating to adjusting the sock for small or large sizing, and I thought that it might be a good idea to include more sizes.  Then it occurred to me that this pattern was also suitable for a man’s sock, but the heel might not appeal to him. So I included a sturdy heel alternative as well.  Incorporating all the additions means that it has taken me a bit longer than planned to release this design, but I think it now makes this pattern much more flexible for knitters, and one that will accommodate most teen – adult foot shapes.

I designed Seadragonus to be very wearable, with the impression of scales in the larger pattern over the entire foot and the smaller belly scales on the heel.  It is an easy top-down sock pattern, with an 8-stitch repeat, and a small cable twist every 6 rows.

You need:

2 x 50g Knitsch 100% merino sock yarn (167m/182yd per 50g) in the Hydro colourway (or other sock yarn of your choice)

2.25mm DPN needles or 80cm circulars for magic loop (or size to get gauge)

1 x cable needle

The pattern has three sizes:  S, M and L.  Medium fits the average woman’s foot.  To knit the large size you will need more yarn (if you are planning to use a sock yarn that has 400m to a skein, one will be enough, assuming as you don’t make the leg longer than the suggested length).  To make this sock more unisex, I have also included an alternative standard slipped stitch heel, as the scale heel might be a bit too feminine for a man’s taste.

To commemorate the release of the Seadragonus, the lovely Alice has very sweetly started a group on Ravelry for my designs (blush!) You are cordially invited to join the Kiwiyarns Knits group!   The first topic she has posted is a knit-a-long (KAL) for Seadragonus for the month of September.

To support this KAL, and to encourage as many people to join as possible, I am going to offer Seadragonus at the introductory price of $2.50 until the 15th of September.  The discount will be automatically applied on checkout, and you do not need to join the KAL to receive the discount.  To make things a bit exciting, I thought I would also raise the bar and set a challenge:  Can you be adventurous with yarn and knit a truly dragon-worthy sock!?  How you interpret this is entirely up to you!

The prize will be two 50g skeins of my favourite sock yarn in the world, the yarn I used to knit this sock – Knitsch 100% merino sock yarn and a surprise Kiwi speciality goodie or two.  The winner will be chosen by popular vote.

Everyone who participates and posts a completed picture in the thread will also receive a coupon code to get their next purchase of one of my patterns free (I have a few more designs coming out, and the code will keep if you’d like to wait to spend it).  Further details are on the KAL discussion thread.

There is of course no compulsion to join in the join in the challenge.  If you’d just like to KAL for a knit and natter, please do join in!

We look forward to seeing you on the Kiwiyarns Knits group!

Pattern available for purchase here.

Seadragonus sock

 

 

 

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

11 thoughts on “Seadragonus

  1. I joined the group! I love this sock love it love it love it!!!!!!!! Many will be mine, in every color of the rainbow. Your talent in amazing.

  2. Love the look of these and I’m sure my grand daughters will be impressed. I have Cast on the second anemone sock last night in knitch Lucille . Wore the first one while I watched the rugby last night that foot was so toasty.

  3. What a great pattern – love it!! Well done 🙂

  4. What a great sock design. The heel is stunning!

  5. So fun! Now to think of a suitably dragon-ish yarn to knit this in 🙂

  6. Ooh you are clever! These are fantastic. Been thinking of you of late. I’ve been watching a lot of the old seasons of Jeff Corwin’s show, “Ocean Mysteries.” Many of the episodes in season two and three are featuring New Zealand and their many conservation programs for the penguins, birds, and seals.

  7. Just purchased! I love this design, and me and my son just finished reading the first ‘how to train your dragon book’! I took it to be a sign 🙂 Thankyou for writing your lovely blog, I look forward to reading every time I get an update.

  8. Congratulations on yet another stunning pattern ! I really love the details on the heel 🙂
    Don’t know if I can find a dragonworthy yarn, but they will be knit for sure !