Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

#3 Bagshot Row

12 Comments

I finished #3 Bagshot Row this week.  The sun came out today. It was lovely and warm and perfect for a bit of weeding and photography in the Hobbit’s garden in the afternoon after work…

#3 bagshot row sock

I adore the foot on these socks.  They are meant to symbolise rows of vegetation in the Gaffer’s garden, and indeed I think they do.

Claire Ellen design socks

The top of the sock has a pretty lace stitch that reminds me of flowers.

Lace top

There are twisted stitches galore, and not a cable needle in sight.

I did have to concentrate on these socks.  There was a fair amount of cursing and ripping when I failed to pay attention to the order of the decreases.  I knit the pattern as written, and although some people made mention that they would be worried the foot was too tight, mine fit me perfectly.  I like how Claire Ellen leaves it to you to decide on heel length – that is a wise move!  I knitted the heel to my usual length using 15 slips on this pattern.

Detail #3 Bagshot row

I love, love, love this design.  It is so intricate and beautiful.  And the yarn (Fibre Alive Merino Mania – 100% merino sock yarn)  is just perfect for this design.

In the garden

And now, I just have to wait a few more days, and hopefully there will be another pretty sock design from Claire Ellen to knit!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

12 thoughts on “#3 Bagshot Row

  1. These are lovely Wei Siew, I will add this pattern to my wish list, but first I have to complete Selachimorpha and then there are Anemonies ….

  2. You have a sock drawer worth stealing from!

  3. Hi Wei, What an artistic design on those new socks. I love your explanation of the veg. rows and the flowers, I can see it and love the look. I wish I had you around to knit me a pair. i still have half a sock on needles : (
    Hope you get your new pattern soon, I know you are antsy to get knitting ; )
    xoRobin

  4. Gorgeous work! Your lovely socks are very inspiring! I need to pull out my pair of socks and get to stitchin 🙂

  5. they look so soft and cosy too

  6. These socks are heavenly!

  7. I’m an avid sock knitter and I rather love these socks!

  8. they really are beautiful socks Wei Siew. I am well and truly back into my knitting here in HK. have not found any knitting buddies yet but am watching a good box set at night and starting to make some progress with my vest top thing which will probably never get worn in this humid place. Please sing out if there is anything you need from over here. I cant thank you enough for all the advice you have given me. Im not saying that i love HK yet, but its definately getting easier. xx

  9. Gorgeous! And, may I just say how jealous I am that you’re heading into spring, with all the excitement of little flowers in the grass, just as we’re losing ours? Sigh. I love fall, but it’s hard when the flowers go.

    • I think the little flowers are the thing I like the best about Spring and Summer. It is sad to see the colder weather go, but at least it will cool for a couple more months yet! Enjoy all those fall colours!