Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Rain

15 Comments

Rain

Thank goodness we had some rain this weekend.  It has been so, so dry, one wonders how the farmers are coping without the precious stuff, not to mention the gardens that are now brown husks and the impending water shortages for residential areas.  Hopefully there will be more to follow – we need much more to fill the rivers and reservoirs again.

Before it rained, the boy and I visited the Martinborough Fair (held every year on the first Saturday of February and March).  It’s a major fund-raising event that hosts craft stalls from all over the country.

Martinborough is the major wine-producing area for this region.  It’s a great experience to drive down the roads and see vineyards everywhere you look.  Very temptingly, most of these vineyards do have cellar doors and wine tasting. The vines were tented with nets as the grapes are nearing readiness for picking – don’t they look delicious!  I think these ones are pinot noir – it’s the popular red variety for this area.  The pinot noir wines from the Wairarapa are particularly delicious – the climate suits this grape very well.

Grapes

Of course, I had to visit Anna Gratton’s stall at the fair…

Anna Gratton merino/mohair

Such a vibrant, citrusy green had to come home with me!  This is the merino/mohair 4 ply in a garment lot (400g) in the Lime colourway.

Then there was this.

Anna Gratton 100% wool

A 200g skein of 100% wool in Chilli Chocolate.  I just cannot resist this colourway.  I now have some in both the wool and merino/mohair blend.

I think the best thing about the fair (apart from the yarn) was the artisan and local food produce – honey, handmade, freshly baked sourdough bread and Easter buns, artisan cheese, preserves and new season apples came home with us.  Simple food, but made the way it is meant to be – super delicious!  As you can see, by the time I thought about taking a photograph, there wasn’t a lot left…

Fair food

The rain was a good excuse to sit inside and do some knitting during the afternoon.  I managed to finish the Falls of Rauros! It’s socks like these that really fire up the sock knitting mojo!

Falls of Rauros

Looking at my queue to choose the next project, I want to cast on all the things!  I think in addition to casting on the March Claire Ellen sock (In the Golden Hall), I am also going to do a bit of Cookie A knitting.  I’ve had Clandestine in my queue for simply ages – and it’s time to knit it!  I also recently caved and bought knit.sock.love, so you are going to see a few more Cookie A designs coming off my needles in the next few months (it was that Twisted Flower sock that did it, but having bought the book, I can see myself knitting every single sock in it!)

I am very close to finishing the Mattingley Jumper. Just a sleeve and the neck to do, and it is finished.  I guess I should be disciplined and finish that up this week so I can tidy one more WIP off my list.

I have a feeling that this year is going to be an interesting one.  Having moved, and found to our delight that our new environs are everything we wanted them to be, I have managed to add the final piece to the puzzle, with the appointment to a new job that begins at the end of this month.  I’m hoping it won’t put too much of a crimp into the knitting as it is a full-time job, but I am really looking forward to applying my skills to this new position.  Best of all, it is based here in the Wairarapa, so I will no longer have to do the hour-long drive to work every day, and I will have the peace of mind of being closer to the young boy.  In this land of earthquakes and unpredictable weather, being so far from him was weighing on my mind.

The events of last year will go down in my memory as a definite annus horribilis.  They weren’t really things I wanted to talk about on this blog, being my place of happy knitting and the celebration of the good things about life.  It will be nice to have an annus mirabilis for a change.  Here’s hoping!

 

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

15 thoughts on “Rain

  1. I love the photos especially the one of the grapes and of course….the yarn. I know what you mean about working close to home. I work full time and am very fortunate in that I walk to work; it takes me about 15 minutes. I hope to go part time in August and then retire a couple of years after that so I’ll have more time to knit and spin!

  2. We got rain this weekend too, much needed in Canterbury but we need more; quite a bit more! I didn’t get to the local market, but I did get to Armageddon which was great fun and I got spinning and a little knitting done too.

  3. Congrats on the new job, sounds as though you are really well set up to enjoy the Wairarapa now, that’s great. Love your yarn choices too. Happy knitting.

  4. It seems as though you you are feeling peaceful and happy! That is a wonderful thing.

  5. So glad things are working out for you and your son. Love the yarn colour. Shirley

  6. Congratulations on the new job, long commutes are horrible for so many reasons.

    Nice socks too

  7. I am so pleased that the move back to the country is proving to be such a success for you, well done on the new job! Have made several of the patterns from knit.sock.love and love them. Look forward to seeing what you make with the yummy yarn from Anna

    • Thank you! I am not sure if I already said this (I meant to), but I do hope you get well soon! In the meantime, I hope you are able to use some of your down-time knitting?

  8. It’s wonderful to read how you and your son are loving your new home and environment. I don’t blame you for wanting piece of mind. I don’t like being far away from my princesses either. I love that chili chocolate yarn. And what a lovely day to spend the day at this fair.

  9. Congratulations on the new job. Hopefully that makes things easier for you, not having the long commute.
    I love your new yarn, and I have to say it is thanks to you that I discovered Anna Gratton yarns, I now have some in my stash, is lovely to knit!!!

  10. The socks are lovely, but I am wondering while looking at the photo – the lace over the toes seems like it will not hold up well at all to actual wear. Please give us an update on how well they are holding up, I am very curious.

    • You are quite right – they will probably give sooner rather than later. I plan to rip back the toe when that happens and reknit a more sturdy toe. I have plenty of left over yarn. In the meantime, I’ll enjoy my full-on lacy socks! 🙂

  11. Isn’t living in wine country awesome? We actually don’t have many reds that grow here, because it’s too warm, but there are some fantastic white wine grapes growing in my county (and a few reds). The vineyards make such a great afternoon or evening of fun. Love your “Chilli Chocolate” too!