Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Sock-a-palooza

11 Comments

Well, I started out this post about to write things like “nothing much on the radar” and “very little knitting”, and then I had a look at what I was going to show you, and I think that instead, a secret sock-a-palooza has been happening at my house.  Right under my nose! And without me noticing!

First off, I will show you the socks that were mostly knitted in one weekend.  I started them during a birthday party that my son was attending, almost finished the heel by the time it was over (stockinette stitch and talking go very well together) and then finished it off at home.  The next sock took a few more days to finish.  This is an Opal Smile colourway.

Opal Smile socks

Sometimes a plain vanilla sock is what you need.  Especially when everything else you are knitting ends up getting ripped and reknit several times over.

Now, take this inspiration:

And turn it into themed socks (the socks are called “In the Golden Hall”.  See the track above linked to by the designer, Claire Ellen.  I liked the look of the cover image and decided to use it as inspiration for the colour of my socks),

In the Golden Hallwhich I have reknit once already because I wasn’t paying attention to the chart and was doggedly trying to knit when I should have been a good girl and tucked up in bed…

And this sweater

Robin

which is now at the short row hem stage, and I have had to frog back to the hem starting point twice for the same reason as noted above.  I think I have finally managed to stop making stupid mistakes with the short rows. I can’t wait to wear this sweater!  Zealana Kiwi is one of my all-time favourite yarns.   It is comfortable to wear, durable, doesn’t pill, looks fabulous… the list goes on and on…

Then add this pretty

Habour by Doe Arnot

which I started this morning during a Skype call, and am already well on the way to the heel.  Note how it is stockinette stitch…(very little room for errors)…

And add another pretty

Cladenstine

which has become my bedtime knitting, but again, has been ripped back to the base because sleepy heads and lace knitting do not go hand in hand (although it does help with getting back to sleep when you wake up in the middle of the night and can’t sleep).

And now I think you can see why I said nothing much has been happening, but at the same time, I find myself suddenly with a basket full of socks!

Let’s backtrack to this little number…

Doe Arnot Harbour Coluorway

This lovely self-striping yarn is the work of Doe Arnot, who has developed a colourway range inspired by a recent trip to Wellington.  This one is called “Harbour”.  I can definitely see the nautical theme!  I can’t wait to see what else she loads up on to her site!  I suspect it’s going to be first off the needles because my brain is clearly not able to focus on much else other than plain vanilla knitting at the moment.

And finally, I thought I’d share something I have been enjoying a lot lately.  The long drives to work have had a wonderful benefit – music has re-entered my life.  In particular, Maksim Mvrica.  If you have not heard this talented piano player before, you really should have a listen.  Here’s one of my favourites:

He’s wonderful to both drive and knit to (not at the same time of course).  It’s music that doesn’t let you fall asleep!

 

 

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

11 thoughts on “Sock-a-palooza

  1. Very special post-thanks for sharing..great knitting..and the piano paying…delightful!! Music IS wonderfulr

  2. You know how to keep yourself busy. I love all of the sock yarns. I love your gansey too. The mix of purple shades are pretty.

  3. Very nice knitting projects and I love the colors and yarns you chose for them.
    And that’s certainly not “very little knitting” 🙂 I think knitting is just your second nature 🙂

  4. Thank you.

  5. Sock-a-palooza…hello! Beautiful socks. Love the yarn and pattern combo of your themed socks.
    Thank you for sharing the beautiful music. I can see why it would be perfect to knit or drive to!

  6. yes..I have 7 pair on the needles at the moment…seven…sigh…

  7. Haha. Isn’t it funny how your projects can get out of hand without you even noticing? You’ll have lots coming off the needles soon, though, which is a pretty great feeling too (especially when accompanied by planning what to knit next!).

  8. Love the LOTR reference. The Lords (and Ladies) of Rohan were favorite characters of mine! Your socks are all great. Kathy

  9. Look forward to your posts – stories – photos – anecdotes! I live the possum blend yarn! So lovely and so warm – keep up the good work!