Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Sockupation

9 Comments

How blissful is was to have four days off in a row during Easter!

On Friday, I finished the Harbour socks:

Harbour socksOn Saturday, the young boy’s best friend came to stay for three days.  I didn’t get much knitting done that day, or the next, or the next. I did try vainly to knit more of my Robin sweater, but I kept getting bored of the stocking stitch and found myself wandering off to do other things after only a few rows.  I also knit more of my heavily cabled socks, but they weren’t being particularly enthralling either.

We went to the park and swimming pool and other places where I had time to knit while the boys had fun.  But I feel it is unwise to take complicated projects with me to public places, and therefore, this was started:

Opal Masked Ball socks

It’s another Opal colourway in the Masked ball series – a vintage piece from my stash!  More stocking stitch.

On Monday, I woke up and wondered about what I did want to knit given there was nothing in my WIP pile that was quite right.  It would have to be a sock, but not cabled, not stocking stitch and not lace.  I know!  What about an all over stitch, or maybe gansey style!?  Books were got out, Ravelry searches were done, and magazines pored over.  The pattern that appealed most was Gladys, especially as it is a tribute to Gladys Thompson’s book, Patterns for Guernseys, Jerseys & Arans, which I do have on my shelf, and which I have been meaning to knit something from for a while! A gansey-style sock would give me visual interest without the need to be glued to a chart or complex written instructions.  I would also be able to knit continuously without having to break the rhythm to incorporate cables or other complex stitches.

The question of which yarn came next.  I decided I needed a heavier sock yarn to provide good stitch definition. Knitting the yarn at a tighter tension would also give the fabric a more gansey-like quality (typically, ganseys are knitted on very small needles to create sweaters with wind resistant qualities).  In my stash, I discovered an excellent heavier sock yarn in a merino/silk/nylon base.  It also had the colour of a traditional gansey sweater.  I think this is what I need at the moment.  A relaxing knit that has a pretty, engaging pattern, but is not too taxing on the tired brain!

The gansey sock

So pleasing we are finally getting a good bit of rain too!

Having now got through my second week at my new job, I’m thoroughly relieved to have the weekend again to regroup, recover and relax.  As with all new jobs, it just takes an enormous amount of energy to adapt to new people/new systems and in my case, a different job function to what I’ve been doing for the past three years.

Roll on the weekend!  🙂

 

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

9 thoughts on “Sockupation

  1. You taught me something new about ganseys. I didn’t know they were knitted with smaller needles. That is a terrific, deep blue. The warmth of it would be great in snow boots or leather ones during a blustery day.

  2. Love that pinkish Opal yarn! Good luck with your new job!

  3. The Opal sock looks very sweet though. And the gansey sock..wow… I don’t think that would be relax-knitting to me; it looks rather complicated. Beautiful, too .

  4. That Opal colourway is so pretty! And those gansey socks have been in my queue for ages, I should really make them at some point. Love them in that dark blue colour.

    • One of the reasons I took so long to knit it up was that I didn’t know what it was going to look like when knitted (there is no picture on the ball band). I’m quite happy with the patterning – it’s quite different to what I’d normally choose.

  5. I always admire your socks!
    Congrats with your new job and I totally understand that relax knitting is what you need at times like this!