Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Spontaneity

10 Comments

It’s the last week of the school holidays, and I have taken three days off to spend with the boy.  It’s a lovely break for the both of us, and a much-needed bit of time off for me.

As New Zealand readers will know, we had the first polar blast of the season this week, and temperatures plummeted to most agreeable winter levels.  Aaaah!  To be able to snuggle in front of a roaring fire, toasty and warm in my possum merino sweater!  And to find a reason for having all those woollen hats, gloves, scarves and coats in my wardrobe!  It was a great way to spend the first day of our holiday together, just decompressing.  Me knitting, him playing on his tablet, while a bitter southerly blew outside.  Pity we weren’t far south enough to see any snow (much envy of the South Islanders happening here), but it was still nice to have far cooler temperatures than we have had!

I finished Gladys.

Gladys

They look so neat, I’m very pleased with them!

These socks were a bit different in that the gusset was decreased at the beginning and end of the instep (to fit in with the seed stitching).  I rather like that look, and might adopt it for future socks.  Closer detail shown below.

Instep feature

If I was to change anything, I think I’d look to knit a different heel.  I like my heels to be snug, and although the continuation of the pattern into the heel looks pretty, it doesn’t quite give me that ‘fitted’ feel that I enjoy in handknit socks.  Also, this yarn is slightly heavier than the usual sock yarn, and combined with the style of stitch pattern, created a slightly wider sock that I would normally get from a 64 stitch cast on.  If I did knit this again, I think I would decrease four stitches in the main part of the sock (two less seed stitches in the centre panel in the front and back) to get a 60 stitch pattern which would have made a snugger sock.

The only mod I made was to have single rows of knit and purl on the toe, as I thought it looked nicer.

All in all, it is a lovely pattern, and I now have an appetite to knit MORE gansey socks!!

The yarn is from Woolrae Studios.  It’s the merino/silk/nylon blend.  She only sells on trademe – just do a search for “woolrae” on trademe, and you’ll find her listings.

Today, the plan was to go into Masterton to buy the remainder of the boy’s winter uniform.  However, being home during good light (it was a stunning day today!) I suddenly noticed all the spider and fly spots on the walls… and got busy with step-ladder and cleaning cloth… and then the floor demanded to be vacuumed, and then, having brought in some wood for tonight’s fire, decided to finish stacking the last of the outside wood into the shed to keep it dry (and prepare for the next load that I’m having delivered).  One rather long distraction later, we were finally ready to go.

I shut up the house, and taking a breath to pause and appreciate the day, realised that there was no urgent hurry to rush into town.  We could always go another day, given we had three more days of holiday left.  It was such a nice day, why not take advantage of the lovely weather and go to the park instead?  And so that is exactly what we did!  It was a reasonably chilly 13C/55F or so, but the boy is very warm-blooded.

Afternoon in the park

It is so nice to be able to be spontaneous for a change.  To be able to stop and smell life’s roses, and be with the ones we love.

Tomorrow, we might go into town.  But then again, perhaps there is another adventure that might call us instead!?

Park oaks

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

10 thoughts on “Spontaneity

  1. To think I was in Masterton not long ago (8 April) and spent a day with the Wairarapa Spinners & Weavers Guild at The Wool Shed. It was the first ‘cool’ day I experienced in NZ. The weather was quite kind as it didn’t rain however it was a different story in Wellington and driving over the mountains – lots of rain. I love your socks. The pattern has such lovely texture to it. It’s 28 degrees in Brisbane today so we still have a way to go until I can start wearing my woollies!

  2. I’m not a fan of winter but you make it sound sooo enjoyable. We enjoyed our trip to NZ and hope to visit again soon.

  3. O, that ‘distraction’ is recognizable ( and probably a good thing over here, or certain parts of the house might hardly if not never get cleaned… ).
    The socks are lovely ! Interesting gusset decreasing, makes me wonder how that would look in stocking stitch.
    I hope your shopping will be postponed again due to adventure.. enjoy !

  4. Love the socks. Woolrae is going to be one of our wonderful traders at Woolfest Auckland (23 May) this year

    • That’s great! It is always so nice to see online sellers with a large selection of yarns in person!

      • That’s part of the fun of Woolfest, love being able to get the online traders there so they can meet their customers and vice versa. I love being able to touch, feel, sniff etc and consequently always spend more than budgeted. Came home with overflowing bags last year and a sadly blown out budget, plan to be more restrained this year, but am sure that won’t happen.

  5. A good way to spend a bitterly cold day. I live just down the road from “Woolrae”. Very convenient. In fact I’m knitting some sock yarn that I got from her recently at the moment. Today is a very wet, cold windy day here. Sock knitting is on my agenda today . Have a good weekend. Shirley

  6. Beautiful socks! Am writing from Michigan. It’s only just getting a little warmer here!

  7. Your socks look wonderful and so nice and warm!

  8. gansey socks ! they are so great.