Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Winding trails for Nepal

6 Comments

We’ve all heard the terrible news of the earthquake in Nepal.  The scenes of destruction are uncomfortably familiar, and heart-rending.  There is great need for help.

I have decided to do something on my part for the people of Nepal.

Winding trails

I finished the pattern for this cowl this week.  I am making it free, but in exchange, I encourage you to donate an appropriate amount to my chosen charity, Global Giving Foundation.  All funds received by Global Giving in this link will go to providing for survivors’ immediate needs for food, fuel, clean water, hygiene products, and shelter.  Even a small amount will go a long way towards helping provide for immediate needs.

Amended to add: I have since discovered that most aid agencies are taking minimum donations of $10. If this is above your budget level, but you would still like to donate, I suggest buying one of my other patterns – all proceeds from the sale of any of my patterns for the month of April and May will be donated to the Nepal earthquake relief efforts.

I found this article very useful in helping me decide who to choose for donations.

winding trails cowl

This cowl was already called Winding Trails, but somehow it’s even more appropriate, as it calls to mind the winding trails of the Himalayas, and the difficult road that lies ahead for Nepal’s recovery.

Download here.

About this cowl:  This is an advanced beginner level pattern.  It is knitted in the round, using a 12 round, 7 stitch repeat.

You need approx. 200m/218yds of DK/sport weight yarn.   I recommend a yarn with drape, a reasonably smooth texture and round body.  An alpaca/merino, alpaca/silk or merino/silk type will be ideal.  In this sample I have used Outlaw Yarns Vanitas, an alpaca blend, DK weight yarn (100g/200m per ball).

Suggested needle size:  4.5mm.

Finished measurements:  70cm/27.5″ around and 22cm/8.75″ tall.

 

 

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

6 thoughts on “Winding trails for Nepal

  1. Beautiful design and the color is fantastic. Let our thoughts be with the people in Nepal and participate in some charity.

  2. I tried to donate, but they won’t take amounts under $10 and at the moment half that is all I can sneak into the budget.

    • Oh that is a shame about that. I am sorry. I was under the expectation that they would. I may have to think about collecting funds to donate in bulk if that is the case.

    • Thanks again for the heads-up and for attempting to donate. I think the easiest way to administer this without forcing people to buy the pattern is for any sales that I make for April/May to go to the Nepal earthquake relief efforts. So, if you did want to donate a smaller amount, feel free to purchase a pattern from my Rav store, and you can be assured that I will send that money on. Thanks again!

  3. Thank you for doing this – I’ve just donated and also popped your pattern in my library!