Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

At last.

9 Comments

Before we get started with today’s post, I want to say a big THANK YOU to everyone who has donated funds or bought patterns for donation of the proceeds to the Nepal earthquake relief efforts!  You are all amazing! 🙂

This week, I decided to ignore my compulsion to cast on all the things, and instead focused on finishing some of the things!

Robin

Pinch me!  It’s finished!  Here is Robin, all done.  One word:  Love.

I was embarrassed to note that the start date on my Ravelry project page shows it has taken me nearly a year to complete!  I blame the stocking stitch island – the project sat unloved in my basket for quite a few months.  As much as I love this sweater, and am so happy to be wearing it, I think this will be the last all-over stocking stitch garment that I consciously decide to knit.   The result is great, but the process of getting there was decidedly not.  Having said that, I suspect stocking stitch sweaters are akin to giving birth – you swear at the time that you will never do that again, only to find that the pain is quickly forgotten at the thought of another adorable baby coming into your life.  I can say that because I have given birth.  Three times.

Grumbling aside, I Love this Sweater and it is going to get a very good amount of use.  I would attribute 70% of my happiness in this sweater to the yarn:  I chose to make it in Zealana Kiwi, a beautiful blend of organic cotton/brushtail possum/NZ merino –  one of my favourite yarns of all time! The colourways are 14 Majestic (darker purple, main body) and 06 Papura (lighter, finer stripe).  The yarn feels like your favourite pair of well-loved jeans that have been worn to death and are oh-so-comfortable.  Gently heathered from the different take-up levels of dye by the three fibres in this yarn, it also gives the garment what I would call a gracefully faded look. It’s my thing!

Zealana Kiwi never pills, wears like iron and does not go out of shape.  I can wear this sweater without fear of it being overly ‘precious’ to look after.  Kiwi has the softness and comfort of cotton, which makes this yarn perfect to wear against the skin, but blended with the warmth of wool and possum fibre. It is also (as you can see) not fluffy at all, and in fact, it is impossible to see that it is contains possum. As I write, I am wearing it with a merino base layer but as you can see below, I can discard the base layer when the temperature is warm, and still feel very comfortable.  Perfect!

In terms of the pattern, there is much that I like about it:  I love the extra fabric at the back.  Very flattering, and it also addresses the terrible discomfort that occurs with shorter sweaters that don’t quite cover the small of one’s back:  cold kidneys!  I love the neckline and the slight dolman sleeves which add to the comfort levels of wearing it.

Being a top-down sweater, there was very minimal finishing involved.  Only the endless ends to weave in from all the stripe changes… 😉

Robin II

Project notes here.  Thanks to the youngest boy for the photos!

This weekend, I also finished the Vest.  I shall tell you about that soon.

 

 

 

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

9 thoughts on “At last.

  1. Such a great sweater Wei! Love the style, shorter in front, curved and longer in the back. A real comfy look and flattering! Can’t wait to see the vest.
    xoRobin

  2. What a great sweater. It looks so comfy and wearable.

  3. It’s lovely and looks so comfy too. Need to check out that yarn…

  4. Yay, on a great finish.

  5. I really must try knitter a jumper or carry from Kiwi. But I still haven’t gotten over my last 4ply project, which was mostly reverse stocking stitch.
    Yours looks and sounds like a great casual top.

  6. I am with you on the boredom of all-over stockinette. This one had stripes at least, so you had something to work towards, but there’s nothing like a chart to keep you motivated! It is a lovely sweater, though, and I bet you’ll wear it so much that you’ll decide the boredom is worth knitting another. And who cares if it takes a year? I don’t mind having a long-term WIP (as long as it’s really just one), because being forced to stick it out when a project isn’t speaking to me is far worse.

  7. I love this sweater. It certainly looks very comfy. I really must get my vest finished that I started more than two years ago!! I’ve done the back and half the front but just can’t seem to finish it. Maybe one day….