Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Hybrid Vigour

33 Comments

I finished it.

Hybrid Vigour shawl

It’s one of the most beautiful pieces of lace I have knit yet, in my opinion!

It fits very nicely, and I can see that I will get a lot more use out of this when the weather warms up again.

Hybrid Vigour shawl

The ‘shawlcho’ concept is genius – no more worrying about the shawl slipping off!  Mary-Anne Mace has done a brilliant job of Hybrid Vigour.

The beads were fixed with a crochet hook.  I have to say that I do like this method of affixing beads – it means I don’t have the weight of the beads on my yarn as I am knitting, and they also sit much more nicely in the knitting that the other way.  I used a mix of glass beads that came pre-mixed – I bought them years ago, when I was into beading, and am very pleased that I can use them again and appreciate their beauty.  Their colour tones well with the yarn.

Beads in knittingThe yarn is Anna Gratton 4 ply merino/mohair in Lavender Fields.  I used 140gms, which is less than one skein. I was pleasantly surprised at how well this yarn knits as lace.  It shows a good level of definition!

Shawl

It’s the perfect wrap for a cool summer evening, or indeed a warmer winter day.

It’s such a wonderful feeling to finish a project, and be happy with it, and know that I have accomplished something.

Design by Mary-Anne Mace

It’s so pretty that I might even knit another one!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

33 thoughts on “Hybrid Vigour

  1. Love this shawl – it is gorgeous!! And how you attached the beads, I have to learn how to do this , thanks for your blog and great projects

    • It’s fortunately very simple to attach beads with a crochet hook. The key is to get a hook small enough to pass through the bead hole. I used a size 0.6mm crochet hook. I put the bead on the hook first, then drew the stitch yarn where it was to be placed through the bead so that the bead sat on the base of the stitch, which I then knitted as usual. I’m pretty sure someone will have placed a great YouTube tutorial showing how to do that.

  2. Just stunning! What a lovely piece. I love the way it falls.

  3. Well done! I have 3 big projects on the needles and have forgotten that feeling of accomplishment that comes with a successful finish.. Congratulations.

  4. I love it! Only once have I knit a project from one of “my” issues of Knitty (Dr. Quackers from Winter 2014), but I keep telling myself that I need to cast on some other project from them … I do love your shawl! I think it will be one of my next projects … 🙂

  5. It’s lovely. I recently finished a shawlcho too, though it’s a relatively low-skill design in seed stitch. It’s great to have the shawl look without having to pin it on.

  6. It’s gorgeous!
    Love the colour, and so glad you like it.
    (I was thinking of it as a summery piece too)

  7. Your shawl-cho suits you! And the Lavender Fields color way is quite pretty. What color would you knit another one out of?

    • Not sure, but I think it would be another pretty, summery colour that can be worn “in bulk” and that would go with a summer look. I have a lovely pinky red that would look great in the shawlcho. I was also originally fingering some Kauni to knit this but I was worried I wouldn’t have enough yarn so I chose Anna’s yarn in the end. I think any of the Kauni colourways would look amazing in this pattern!

  8. That is a beautiful piece of knitting. The colours of the yarn and beads are just perfect!

  9. Oh wow, what a beauty ! And it looks so good on you !

  10. That’s a beautiful shawl- I like the idea of it being a hybrid too!

  11. Fantastic finish. I love how it’s lightweight bit provides needed warmth.

  12. Quite beautiful. I think I’m going to have to put this pattern on my To Do List!

  13. It’s gorgeous. I use dental floss to attach my beads.

  14. You look great! I have never knit a poncho (I don’t know why … It has never been a thing for me), but this makes me wonder whether I should give it a try … The yarn is beautiful, it’s like an aquarell painting … Or watercolours … Great job! 🙂

  15. “Shawlco” – love it! 🙂

  16. Oh, I love this FO!!! I’ve always wanted to work with beads in knitting. Yours looks so neat and lovely! You will wear it forever!

  17. Absolutely gorgeous. Now I want to bead something!

  18. It’s so beautiful! I love everything about it. It gives me something to aspire to as a new knitter!

  19. Pingback: Shawls can be addictive too | Kiwiyarns Knits