Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Shawls can be addictive too

19 Comments

It appears that being addicted to knitting socks is not enough.
Lilli Pilli

I was feeling the loss of a shawl on my needles, and had to start this one because my other two WIPs are sometimes too mentally taxing to knit after a full day at work. Not normally a fan of garter stitch, I am finding the plain knitting of Lilli Pilli quite soothing at the moment.
Two hearts

Two Hearts is coming along nicely.  I have started the armhole shaping, which means that the first piece is nearly complete.  I do love how the Romney lambswool is looking in this sweater!  The spin of this yarn is an airy woollen spun, and the strand comprises a two ply.  It feels nice and light, even though it is heavily cabled.
Yvanna

Yvanna is nearly complete.  The second heel is now complete, and for me that signals a home run is in sight!  These socks easily rank as the most difficult pair I have ever knit.  Not overly technically challenging, it’s the large charts and shifting elements of each and every row that have had me cursing the day I ever agreed to knit these on quite a few occasions!  Not only am I having to mark each row as I complete it on the chart, but I also need a ruler under each row so that I can see straight!!  Again, not the easiest thing to knit after a taxing day at work. Difficult one to photograph nicely – they does look better in real life.

Yvanna has also challenged me in other ways – I have missed one or two knots, and looking back I can see the errors, but the thought of ripping back and reknitting all the knots to pick up one missing one is just too stressful to contemplate!  I shall just have to say that they are organic Yvannas – after all, when is one blossom branch exactly the same as another!?  😉  This approach doesn’t sit overly well with my perfectionist nature though.  There is probably a way I can create a knot embroidery style… I may look into that if I can’t bear the thought of handing them over the way they are.

Perhaps it is the effect of knitting two complex patterns at the same time, or the after effects of knitting that lovely Hybrid Vigour, but my mind is drifting back to lace and beads and shawls… and what to knit after Lilli Pilli.  Perhaps it is time to have another attempt at the Southern Skies, or perhaps I need to finally make a start on the Rosebud?

Scratching around for a trio of yarns to combine into Lilli Pilli, I also came across this lovely set:

Spinning a Yarn

In the end, I wanted a more dramatic Lilli Pilli (perhaps I’m just very boring and like the colour combination shown in the pattern…) but I decided not to go with this colour set.  Wouldn’t they make a beautiful Cameo or Bush Creek though?  The beautiful drape of the merino/silk does lend itself to very delicate lace though… perhaps something more like Versailles?  Or one of Boo Knits‘ hauntingly beautiful designs?  Decisions, decisions!

Wishing you all a great weekend and a lovely week ahead!

 

 

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

19 thoughts on “Shawls can be addictive too

  1. I really enjoy your blog – thanks for sharing. My vote is for one of Boo Knits‘ hauntingly beautiful designs – namely Dragonfly wings!

  2. Oh wow, I can barely believe that those socks look even better in real life !
    I love the colour combo you chose for your Lilli Pilli, I think it will look stunning 🙂

    That other yarn looks great together as well. Are you planning on using them all three in one shawl ? If so, I would go for the Brush Creek Shawl. I do love Boo Knits’ designs as well, but I think I’d use just one colour for them..

  3. Hmm that Lilli Pilli shawl looks gorgeous, I guess it would come out looking great in any sort of colour combination. But I do indeed love the examples with more bold colour contrasts!

  4. Oh, what a coincidence.. A few weeks back I got addicted to (for now just the idea of) Lilli Pilli – mind you, I’m not even a shawl person…. Definitely, the bold colour contrasts make it look really stunning. I also love this version: http://www.ravelry.com/projects/radashes/lilli-pilli

  5. Any knitting addiction is a good addiction. The more the merrier!

  6. You have picked wonderful, visual patterns. I like how the shawl when you wear it, you get that pop of color. The cabled grey is magical, like a wooly worn talisman. The socks are like summer. I somehow think of apricots. I like that trio of yarn. They are reminiscent of a young fall.

  7. I hate to admit it I dislike charts intensely. I try to avoid charted patterns and I am drawn to written instructions patterns. When I decided to knit my Lacy Waves and Butterflies shawl I sat down and wrote out the charted instructions and then typed them up. It took a while but it made knitting sooo much easier for me. That’s how much I hate charts 🙂 Yes, I know that feeling when you’ve made a small mistake in a garment but sometimes you just need to let it go, particularly if you’re knitting a complex pattern which obviously you are with those gorgeous socks. I am a bit of a rustic knitter and spinner. If I want something absolutely perfect I can always buy it. A tiny little mishap here and there does not detract and just shows that you’re human 🙂 Besides if you were giving those socks to me, I certainly wouldn’t complain 🙂 Lovely knitting as always and lovely yarn too.

    • Haha, that is funny. I am the opposite – I’ll chart a written pattern because I am so averse to reading written patterns! This one’s charts were just realllly complex.

    • Maybe you already know this blog, but in case you don’t… she recently did four blogposts about lacecharts, maybe they could help you out a little ? As there are so many lovely charted patterns…. http://www.kariebookish.net/

      • Thank you so much for this link. It is very interesting and I will take the time to read it. I still believe as a knitter, you’re either a chart follower or a written pattern follower. One of my friends only knits from charts and the other only from a written pattern 🙂

  8. If I were to retroactively fix those socks, I think I would do a little duplicate stitch to where the knot was to be, knit the knot, then weave in the end.

    And my vote is for trying Southern Skies again… but of course I’m biased 🙂

    • That is a very good solution, thank you! I showed the socks to the recipient today (they are finished but I felt I needed to do a size adjustment so asked her to do a fitting) and she really likes the ‘organic’ socks with not symmetrical bobbles and doesn’t want me to change them. Thank goodness!