Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

The Putangirua Pinnacles

12 Comments

Last weekend, friends invited us to join them for a walk to the Putangirua Pinnacles.

Putangirua Pinnacles

I first heard about the Pinnacles (as they are known here in the Wairarapa) from a colleague, who said they were very interesting rocks.  I have to giggle now at his description.  They are definitely interesting geological formations.  The tower shapes are called hoodoos.  Formed by erosion over thousands of years, they make a spectacular landscape!

This particular photo cost me 45 minutes of hard climbing, and a very badly blistered heel that meant I wore backless shoes to work all week… I think it was worth it.  Now that my foot has stopped stinging!

The Pinnacles 2

This photo shows the Pinnacles as seen from the bottom of the formations.  We walked from the lookout down to the bottom of the riverbed, only a 20 minute walk or so.

Putangirua Pinnacles

You then walk along the riverbed and into the base of the Pinnacles.  I don’t think it would be a good idea to come here right after heavy rain – this riverbed would not be as friendly!  A fact born out by the numerous pools of thick mud we came across during our walk – the children had a lot of fun poking sticks into them.

Another interesting fact about the Pinnacles which I discovered more recently, is that they are the location for the scene in the Lord of the Rings where Aragorn travels the Paths of the Dead to summon the Army of the Dead.

Putangirua Pinnacles

The kids decided it would be cool to investigate the narrow pathway to see if it led to a cave.  They chickened out before they got to the end.

THe Pinnacles 4

The shapes of the hoodoos and the feel of the canyon that we walked through it certainly does give this area an other-worldly feel.  It really does look the part of a scene from the Lord of the Rings.

The Pinnacles 5

Peter Jackson’s location crew chose well!

The Pinnacles 6

Can you see the naturally formed head sculptures in this photo?  The Young Boy said one of them looked like an Easter Island head, and I think he is right!

The Pinnacles 7

We were lucky to go on the day we did.  Almost as soon as we got back to the carpark, a strong wind blew in and lasted for the next few days.  It would have made walking here particularly unpleasant!

I was very grateful to be invited to go for that walk.  It was much more fun with company.  Young Boy was even more pleased – he got to have a sleepover with his best friend that night as well.

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

12 thoughts on “The Putangirua Pinnacles

  1. That is gorgeous and inspirational.

  2. Spectacular! Loved the reference to the Lord of the Rings. Thank you.

  3. When I saw the first pic, I thought this was a Lord of the Rings type place. How funny you confirmed with a movie tidbit. What a fascinating place to explore. Glad you’re all healed up.

  4. I’ve never been to the Pinnacles but they look amazing. I agree with the Young Boy about the resemblance to the Easter Island statues too.

  5. I think I went up that canyon. There’s no cave. But a rock did fall down and hit me on the head while Chris was trying to take my picture. He said he’d never seen anyone run so fast down a trail.

    I’m glad you got to go look. It’s a pretty incredible location.

    • I remember your very funny blog post about that. I was thinking of it when we did the walk, and was very happy we didn’t have any falling rocks!

  6. Cool, must go there sometime once we are back in NZ. You had a great day for the walk.

  7. Wow, it looks absolutely breathtaking ! Glad you managed to enjoy all of that scenery 🙂

  8. Wow Wee, amazing, beautiful and exciting place! Yes, I’m glad the weather held out for you all, sounds like it was a wonderful day for you all!
    xooxRobin

  9. Spectacular scenery!

  10. Amazing post! You are right, Peter Jackson chose well. The pinnacle is absolutely brilliant!

  11. Your photos are stunning!! NZ is such a beautiful country with breathtaking scenery and these pics certainly prove that 🙂