Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

New beginnings

42 Comments

Today was my last day at work.  I feel happy, sad, angry.  A bit achey where my heart is, and sometimes a little bit weepy. Redundancy, and the stress surrounding a restructuring is a very, very horrible experience to go through.

On an objective level, this exercise was just a ‘numbers game’, and not about performance.  The human cost that comes with this sort of process is very high though, and I do believe there must be better ways of achieving business objectives than this.  I am not the only one to go, and not the only one who has been affected.  My friends and now ex-colleagues will also feel the loss for quite some time.

I’m also feeling it for others whom I know who are also facing the same thing at their work places.  It seems to be catching, this restructuring business.

The silver lining is that I am now free to look into doing something new, and creating a life that is suited to what I need, and if I am very honest, in having a period of rest.

Let’s turn to happier topics!

On Wednesday, it was Pet Day at the young boy’s school and he chose to take Coal, the Adorable Bunny.  Thanks to the adorable bunny and a young man’s curiosity about how to care for his beloved pet, the duo won the red ribbon (First) in the small mammal category!

Winner!

Not just that, the young man then won the Cup for Best Knowledge and Care of Small Mammals!

Cup winner

It was an awesome day!  I was a very proud mama, and he was a very happy boy!

Happy Boy

The season is marching along quickly, and new delights have been found in the garden.

Plums

Blossoms have now turned into the promise of tasty plums.

Wild pansie

The cutest wild pansy growing in the grass.

Spring sky

A glorious sky seen through the newest spring leaves.

All these things bring joy and peace to the mind and heart.

Knitting progress is coming along nicely, but it’s mostly secret knitting.  I’ll be back later in the weekend with things to show on that front!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

42 thoughts on “New beginnings

  1. Enforced change is always upsetting. Horrible indeed! A rest is no doubt well deserved.
    On the plus side this might open your eyes to otherwise unseen opportunities. Fingers crossed!!
    Sending positive vibes your way.
    Bimbi x

  2. Sorry about the redundancy issues. I’m facing that soon myself.

    But I love your son and the bunny and their awards – that is the best!

    And you pictures of trees and flowers are so lovely – we of course are in the color-changing time of autumn here which has its own loveliness.

    Have a good weekend.

  3. Hi Wei, So sorry to hear about your job BUT I love your attitude and the chance to do something positive with this new situation. AND yes a little period of rest would be nice I’m sure. SO proud of your young man, TWO awards how wonderful, he should be so proud and I know you are! You are a great mom!
    I hope you have a great day and weekend, enjoy all your secretive knitting, can’t wait to see, xoxoRobin

  4. I’m sorry too Wei to hear about your job. We do need a new business model all across the board. Well on to new opportunities and something better. Congrats to your young boy and Coal!

  5. It does hurt. It’s like a physical blow to have to leave something with which you are so familiar, as well as the loss of your co-workers. I also love your positive attitude. Congrats to your son on his awards 🙂 I always forget that as we are going into Fall, your part of the world is seeing Spring 🙂

  6. I’m sorry you had to experience redundancy. I can understand how you feel with having worked there for so long and putting your 110% into your work only to be let go. I’m glad you have a bunch of others who are in the same boat and who can support you during this adjustment. On the other hand, another better door of opportunity is waiting somewhere! And congrats to your son on this fun ribbon award.

    • I think the trick here is to move forward and leave the past behind. It is never productive to focus on the negatives. Now to find that new opportunity! 🙂

  7. I’m sorry to hear of your redundancy, and hope it turns into something positive instead. Sometimes it can open the door to better things!
    Ahh.. pet days, that takes me back! Congratulations to your son. I won something once with my cat, Spud (!) and my sister’s pet lamb won the lamb drinking race!

  8. I’ve been through redundancy twice in my working life, even when you are ready to go it’s still hard to be made redundant. Friday was also my last day at work, though for the first time I chose to leave, with nothing else to go to in order to focus on my health. A very happy day for me and I’m expecting my stress levels to greatly fall. I’ve also noticed I’ve been spending less since making the decision, looks like my continuously buying yarn and fabric was a stress response.

    • I send you my very heartfelt wishes for a fast recovery! And enjoy all the new time to focus on making things with that lovely stash you have acquired! 🙂

  9. I’ve been through “restructuring”, “restacking”, “redundancy”, and “out-sourcing” over the years. It is always stressful, even when you hear your own job is safe. I am sorry you had to go through it. But the fact you titled this post “New Beginnings” bodes well. And the idea of starting fresh and creating the life you want is enticing. As for the other news, congrats to the young boy for his wins. Sounds like they are well earned!

  10. Redundancy can be so distressing but you have a lovely positive attitude. Starting with a period of rest is very wise, give yourself time to grieve a little as you consider your next steps. Your beautiful garden and your knitting is a great therapeutic antidote for the sad and angry emotions. The young boy is a very clever young boy and obviously a very caring young boy. Pets are great for children to learn all those lovely skills. Enjoy the lovely weather this long weekend and plot and plan the future when you are ready.

  11. I am way jealous your kid’s school has Pet Day! Also, here’s hoping “restructuring” turns out to be a blessing in disguise.

  12. It has taken the organisation I work for over three years to do their restructure (because they wanted to get it right!) and the toll on people’s health has been enormous. My own job changed considerably and then I decided to reduce my hours. Others have until next June to agree to be redeployed or be out of a job – not nice. Well done on the positive attitude – much better for your health and peace of mind!

  13. It looks like your boy is thriving and I’m glad to see it. I hope that you find your own situation becomes healthier in the future!

  14. i am sending “good vibes” for you. I hope you can create something new for your work life that is a pleasure. Pass on a pat on the back to your son, well done, a lovely story to hear. Bon weekend.

  15. Ohh so sorry Wei Siew, Thinking of you.

  16. All the very, very best for your new beginning.
    Keep strong and go forth girl.
    P.S Congratulations to the boy and his coal.

  17. I’m sorry that you have had to go thru redundancy and I hope that you don’t have to face financial difficulties because of it. At least you would be in a good position to grow some of your own food (living where you are), and now have an opportunity to think about what you might want to do for living instead. I enjoyed reading about your boy’s success in pet care. You are definitely doing something right!

    • The financial thing is going to be something I need to get sort asap. I do not fancy a trip to WINZ any time soon. In the meantime, I shall be doing my best to secure a new source of income!!

  18. Well done, young man ! Cheers for you and Coal, who is lucky to have you around then 🙂
    Sorry to hear about the job issue, I do hope that by some time off, you’ll feel whole again and something good will come your way !

  19. So sorry you have to go thru a redundancy, the strain must be very worrying especially with your young fellow to care for too. I hope you can look back soon and be glad of all the change. That bunny is adorable and well done young may on a top job caring for and learning all about your bunny!

  20. Congratulations on your young man’s achievements. Nothing makes a mother happier than when her child/children is/are flourishing. Lots of good luck wishes coming from Oz for you when you start looking for your dream job. I can foresee a bit of knitting happening during this rest period. Take care.

  21. Ugh, “restructuring” is awful, and the human cost is very real. I’m glad to hear you’ll be able to take some time to rest and think about what comes next, but not choosing change makes it that much harder. Knit up a storm in the meantime.

    • It is the not choosing part that does make it hard. Not many of us like to have decisions made about our lives that we have no control over. I shall Keep Calm and Carry On Knitting! 🙂

  22. All the best in your search for the right position for you, and sending you best wishes for a silver lining. In the meantime knitting may help keep anxiety at bay.

  23. Yes, let’s hear it for pet bunnies, yay!
    Here in the USA, redundancy was called “reduction in forces, or RIF. I got riffed once, and it was horrible. But strangely enough, a much better job and a better life came out of it.

  24. I love that South End School has a Cup for Best Knowledge and Care of Small Mammals! What a great school! Hopefully both your rest and your new beginning are going to be really good for you.