Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Empty nets, the FO!

17 Comments

I finished Empty Nets this week.  To do the pattern justice, especially in view of the fact that the time and talent for this pattern was donated by Sonya Newstead to the Sustain the Sea initiative, I decided we needed to take a trip to the beach.  I picked the young man up after school and we drove to the Lake Ferry beach in South Wairarapa, which we haven’t been to before.

It is a rugged piece of beach.  Not really a swimming beach, but very beautiful and scenic.  On one side, Lake Onoke drains into Palliser Bay.

Lake Ferry

On the other side, is Palliser Bay.

Palliser Bay

It was a nice place to take photos.  The water was too cold for swimming, and the beach is not very safe for this activity, so the boy and I had wave races and dared each other to get our legs wet by the icy water!

On to Empty Nets – here it is, in its full glory!

Empty Nets

I’m very proud of this picture, because it was taken by the youngest child.  I think his photography skills are coming along nicely!

Empty Nets 2

I decided I wanted the shawl to be bigger than designed, so I knitted 20 repeats instead of 17.

Empty Nets - waves

I adore the wave edgings.

Empty Nets 3

The final edge is bound off using a ruffle, to represent the waves breaking on the beach.  I kept mine small and did not work the second set of increases.

It’s a funny shawl to knit because you think it cannot possibly become a triangle while knitting it – it looks like a slice of pizza!  When finished and blocked though, it magically transforms!  My notes are here if you want to know more details.

Empty Nets 4

Words cannot express my gratitude to Sonya for donating this shawl pattern.  I cherish the feeling of comfort that there are many people who do care about the planet and keeping life on it sustainable for future generations, as evidenced by so many of your comments while writing about this subject.

I think that if more people thought about contributing meaningfully to this life, and considered the impact of their actions on the environment around them (social and physical) the world would be in a much better place than it is today.  Let’s all keep on trying!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

17 thoughts on “Empty nets, the FO!

  1. That’s a gorgeous shawl, and the perfect backdrop too!

  2. It is truly beautiful! Your photos are amazing, well done your boy 🙂 Is the pattern fairly easy? x

  3. Beautyous!! And I did buy the book A Fine Fleece with all the absolutely drop dead gorgeous sweaters! Thanks for telling us about it.

  4. I love Sonya’s work, she does a great job.

  5. So, so beautiful. I truly enjoyed your pictures of the beach in relationship to your knitting. Wonderful!

  6. Your shawl is beautiful as is the beach setting. The photography is perfect.

  7. Yay! I love how it soars freely in the breeze by the lovely sea.

  8. Your shawl is gorgeous. I don’t get much opportunity to wear shawls and more’s the pity!

  9. Your yarn perfectly matches the water fourth image. You clearly picked the correct yarn for the pattern. It’s beautiful. It truly, truly is.

  10. Stunning and perfect photos to show it off. This one went in my Ravelry favorites! K

  11. Fabulous pictures and a really beautiful shawl. 🙂

  12. How glorious- the sea colours, and your shawl! Great photography. (And great knitting – that goes without saying almost).

  13. I already admired it on ravelry – it looks wonderful (I agree with you about your son’s photographing skills!). The pattern has wandered into my queue already! Sonya was very generous in making it a free pattern. 🙂