Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Gift pattern from Zealana!

38 Comments

Today, Zealana released a free pattern in time for the holidays.  It is designed by me!

Image courtesy of Zealana

Image courtesy of Zealana

I am super happy with how it has been photographed and styled – what a stunning model and location!

Image courtesy of Zealana

The pattern is available for download from Zealana’s website page – visit their Facebook page for the link, or if you don’t have Facebook, download it from their website here.

The colourwork in this hat is a slipped stitch pattern, popularised by Barbara Walker as mosaic knitting.  Mosaic knitting is easy to knit and faster than traditional stranded colourwork because only one strand of yarn is used in each round. The double-sided band makes for extra warmth around the ears.  It is finished with a stylish pompom.

Image courtesy of Zealana

This hat is worked in the round.  When working the slipped stitches, the working yarn is always stranded across the wrong side of the work.  Remember to keep the floats loose by spacing the slipped stitches.  There is no need to break the yarn between color changes.

Image courtesy of Zealana

The hat uses Zealana Cozi in the Bittersweet and Custard colourways.

Materials needed are 2 balls of Bittersweet and 1 ball of Custard.  You also need 2.75mm and 3.25mm circular needles, stitch markers and a pom pom maker.

Hat is 21” / 54 cm around the band and 9.5” / 24cm tall excluding the pompom.  Fits the average adult head and allows a moderate amount of slouch.

Happy Knitting!

 

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

38 thoughts on “Gift pattern from Zealana!

  1. That was just lovely…….pattern, colours and FREE! You are so sweet, thank you.

  2. Love it! It’s going straight on my list. Might not get to it this year …

  3. Beautiful hat! Congratulations 🙂

  4. Gorgeous hat – well done!

  5. It’s a beautiful hat! I’ve downloaded the pattern and can’t wait to get started knitting it!

  6. Utterly adorable. Well done you. I bought Cozi on your recommendation and love it. I’m going to make your gorgeous pattern, but turn it into a slouch without the pompom (not such a hot look on the over 60s). Thanks so much.

    • Yay! I am so happy you like the yarn and the pattern. If you don’t knit the pompom, you will only need to buy one ball of each colour. The second ball is to make the pompom. I’m looking forward to seeing your version!

  7. It’s fabulous, congratulations!

  8. Beautiful, but then I haven’t seen a pattern of yours that I didn’t love – thanks!

  9. OHMYGOD this is GREAT! CONGRATULATIONS!!! What a cool hat! I will definitely try this one out. It looks really beautiful, and I love that it is knit with fingering weight! 🙂

    HUGS! 🙂

  10. This is wonderful on all counts. Star, baby, star!

  11. Congratulations on the publishing ! And thank you for the generosity of it being a free pattern. You really rock !

  12. Beautiful! Downloading now! Thank you for a lovely pattern!

  13. Great design! They styled it wonderfully.

  14. Looks utterly fab – though I too would omit the pompom due to my relatively advanced age. I’ll look forward to making myself one in time for next winter 🙂

  15. Exciting blog post all the way around! Congratulations!

  16. Hello Wei! A big THANK YOU from me too. I was so inspired by you and the most wonderful Zealana yarns, I started to blog and have a little shop with the yarns here for Germany. So: I guess/ hope you don’t mind me putting links on my site!?
    greetings from germany!
    When I’ve finished my page I give notice…
    Christiane

    • Oh wow! That is amazing to hear! 🙂 I’d love to see your page. I know that Zealana would be delighted if you linked to the free hat pattern, and I am more than happy for you to link to my site if that is what you meant.

  17. Love the hat – and the styling for the magazine is so gorgeous!

  18. Hi again! Oh yes…. that’s what I want to do/wanted to say……. reading is so much easier than writing.. unfortunately opening a shop is so much to think and know about law…. it all takes much longer than I thought. I might just open the blog in a few days… I’ll let you know
    and the worst thing is, hardly any time for knitting…

  19. Congratulations! It’s such a gorgeous pattern. Maybe I need to start knitting with a couple of colours but I just dread the thought of continually changing colours 🙂