Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

The week before Christmas

16 Comments

IMG_1570 (1024x768)

It’s just a few days to go before Christmas, and it’s time to make lists so that things don’t slip between the cracks!

Between now and Wednesday, there are lawns to mow, decks to scrub, the house cleaning, baking, a Christmas grocery run and final Christmas knit to finish.

IMG_1577 (800x600)

Isn’t it a pretty colourway?  It’s Dream in Color Smooshy in Tea Party. There will be enough yarn from this skein to make two of these, and I think it’s very appropriate to make some for me, given my avid tea habit.  The name of the yarn is apt too.  It is quite Smooshy!  This 100% merino sock weight yarn has the perfect density (like my favourite high twist from Knitsch).  It is nicely twisted and not at all splitty.  The 3 ply also makes it durable.  It’s just right for this little project of mine.

On Wednesday, I will be in Wellington to meet Charles Gandy, a US designer who is in town.  The event has been kindly organised by James (kiwikiltedknitter), of Joy of Yarn indie sock fame (sadly he no longer dyes).  His itinerary is on this Ravelry forum if you’d like to join in!

And on Thursday, the guest room needs to be readied for my sister and her family who are arriving to share Christmas.  It will be most excellent to see them again as it has been a couple of years.

I hope all is well in your corner of the world, and that your own holiday plans are going well.

IMG_1574 (1024x781)

Thought I’d share a couple of ‘other’ photos with you:  the cuddly cat decided yesterday that the best place in the world was on my lap and under the knitting.  It was quite a cold day – in fact, we have had SNOW on the hills this week!!  I almost lit the fire (but wait, it’s summer right!?)

IMG_1575 (800x600)

Look at that wee blissed-out face!  It was a bit gloomy – apologies for the bad lighting in the photo.

You may be wondering about the new background in my photos – this is my newly set-up headquarters for Kiwiyarns Knits/Wei S. Leong Designs. If I may say so myself, it’s the perfect knitting designer’s corner!

20151120_141810_resized

And finally, saving the best for last:  a Knitting Event for the Wellington region!!  It will be some time in October – we have just been informed that the venue double-booked our preferred date, which means we need to do some rethinking of dates. Sigh.

It will be held at the Carterton Events Centre in Carterton, Wairarapa, which is only an hour’s drive from Wellington. It will be an all-day event, with selected, quality traders and a handmade lounge for social crafting (I hesitate to say knitting, because all fibre related people are welcome, eg. crocheters, spinners and weavers).

Registration will be free, and there will be a limited amount of pay-for classes for advanced/intermediate level knitting skills. We’ll be putting out the call for traders and teachers soon, but if you are interested, please do drop me a line.

More details will be forthcoming in the new year!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

16 thoughts on “The week before Christmas

  1. I always enjoy reading your posts. Have a wonderful holiday season and best wishes for the new year.

  2. Wow, it might actually be colder out your way than it’s been here in Virginia. That’s bizarre. Things are definitely colder here today though, so hopefully that means things are getting warmer for you too! That’s the way it works, right? 😉

  3. Wei I delight in learning of your meeting with Charles Gandy. He is an absolute love!! Actually he lives near me and I see him at the local yarn shop often. So talented and generous as well. So delighted for you both!
    Happiest of holidays!!!

  4. So much light in your new designer corner, a great creative space 🙂 Your cat looks so cosy. In the UK we are having it unseasonably warm, Hubby is going to mow the lawn today and he has never done that inDecember. I hope you have a great Christmas!

    • Climate change really is beginning to sink it it seems. I am very much enjoying my cosy corner. It is nice to have a place where all the knitting is in one area and not spread all over the house! Wishing you a wonderful Christmas too!

  5. Nice space you have there ! I hope you get to spend many a happy hour in your designer corner 🙂
    Can’t blame the cat, it looks real nice and warm under that knitwear.
    Have a good time in Wellington Wednesday ! I bet you’ll be bubbling with inspiration when you get back 🙂

  6. You’re so lucky to have a whole room just for your knitting! Plus that bag of yarn on the left in your photo looks intriguing too.

  7. Wishing you a beautiful holiday season! I love your new studio set up … I hope to do the same during the winter break! xoxo

  8. When I read that there was snow on the hills, I thought to myself, “Of course there is. It’s winter.” Silly me. It’s not winter for everyone.

  9. I love th photo with the cat on your lap! Could be one of my parents’ … 😉

    I wish you a very merry Christmas, lots of great time with your sister and her family and awesome presents!!! 🙂 Lots of hugs to you – I do hope that next year will be amazing for you. 🙂