Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

All the socks

9 Comments

This week’s post is all about the Socks.

There have been some happy happenings in the background which I can now tell you about!

June PostStitch Box

I was delighted to be asked to contribute a pattern to PostStitch‘s June SockStitch box.

The yarn this pattern was to go with was the delectable Circus Tonic Handmade Revelry Sock base in Rose Crowned Fruit Dove.  I decided to contribute an entirely new design to this box, the Sassy Socks. These socks were originally a Christmas present for my cousin, who lives in Australia. However, the original socks were too small (I had this mistaken idea that she had tiny feet, which she doesn’t), so I reworked them in a larger size and let PostStitch have use of the pattern for the June box, matched with Circus Tonic Handmade Revelry Sock. This pattern will be available for general release in July, but I understand that sets are still available from PostStitch.

PicMonkey Collage (1024x512)

A KAL

There is an exciting KAL happening over on Aussie Sock Knitters Forum on Ravelry for the month of July.  This KAL is genius – you pick the socks you might want to knit (up to 5) and everyone else votes for the favourite that you will actually knit.

I picked out a few patterns from my (ahem, very long) queue. Please help to decide which of the socks I should knit here. I’d really appreciate some extra votes. At the moment, the favourites are Bordurensocken and Pointelle and votes are neck-to-neck.

I’ve picked out my yarn. If it’s Bordurensocken, I shall use Tanis Fiber Arts Purple Label in Dove, as it is a gorgeous dreamy colour and soft and beautiful, and will match the pattern very well.

IMG_2389 (1024x683)

If it is to be Pointelle, I am thinking I’ll use this Whimzy Sokkusu O in Peeta. I may yet change this option. I ordered some yummy looking yarn from OziFarmer’s Market and I may decide to swap it for that yarn assuming it gets here in time for the KAL start in July. I thought I should see about using Australian yarn, given it is an Australian knitters’ group after all!

Pointelle option

I’m looking forward to the start of the KAL and to finding out what the chosen sock is to be!

Yarn finds

I thought I’d finish by showing you some beauties that I have discovered lately:

Ruataniwha Dye Studio

These are gorgeous yarns from Ruataniwha Dye Studio, who is a Kiwi based in Japan.  I adore the subtle colours Steph uses. She’s also going to be stocking Maniototo Wool’s Luxury Lambswool in 4 ply very soon – an indie dyer to watch!

Also, I finally got around to ordering some of Stray Cat Socks‘ new Essential Deluxe (cashmere/merino/nylon base)…

Stray Cat Socks

This is Cinnamon. It is gorgeously soft and luxurious feeling!! I anticipate that it will find its way on to my needles sooner rather than later!

Happy Knitting!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

9 thoughts on “All the socks

  1. I think I might have to join that group as well, though there seems to be a long list of things I need to make as well as socks I do need to make a pair for my husband next. Pattern hunting will ensue as I’m thinking he needs his first pair of DK socks.

  2. Do you speak German? I love the Bordurensocken pattern and would make it, but my German is limited to “Two beers, please.”

  3. This is a fun twist on adding more handknit socks to one’s drawer. I wish I could participate but I’m already so busy knitting Christmas socks. But hey, I figure there will always be more sock KALs to join at any time.

  4. I’m glad your yarn arrived safe and sound! I’m looking forward to see what you make with them.

  5. Have some stresses been falling to the wayside? You seem so light in this post. Of course, who wouldn’t be when you get to play with socks 🙂