Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

The trouble with WIPs

6 Comments

It is a wonderful and exciting thing to be a knitter. The ability to create new projects is boundless, limited only by one’s imagination, time and sometimes, skill.

On the other hand, the ability to finish new things, hampered by one’s “cast-on-itis” can sometimes be challenging. It is something I must grapple with this week so that I can happily cast on yet more things (and have some hope of finishing them!)

This week another new thing (or two) popped on to the needles.

Thank you very much to everyone who gave my votes a little extra boost for the Aussie Sock Knitters’ KAL.  The clear voter’s choice was Bordurensocken.

I had a couple of hiccups starting this one.  As I mentioned in my first post about this, I was going to use Tanis Fibre Arts’ Dove colourway.  Only, when I started knitting it, the result didn’t look so great.

IMG_2439 (800x600).jpg

Despite the soft variegation, it was still too variegated, and I couldn’t see the design very well at all.

I finally found what I was looking for in Circus Tonic Handmade’s Revelry Sock in the Grey Whistler colourway. It’s a lovely pattern, so ornate, I love it! Once it is finished and modelled, you’ll be able to see the detail a lot better.

IMG_2465 (640x640)

I have been really enjoying Stray Cat Socks‘ new base, an 80% merino, 10% cashmere and 10% nylon blend, called “Essential Deluxe.” So much so that I have finished one sock already! The lovely drape and softness of this yarn, combined with the just ‘one more stripe’ syndrome made it hard to put down.

IMG_2457 (800x600).jpg

I also really appreciated all your comments on last week’s swatching exercise.  Thank you! I think I will definitely go with the blue silk/merino/angora mix.  But first, I need to finish a couple of things!

This pair of fingerless mitts has been requested urgently by the eldest boy, now living the student life.  Obviously, the walk to uni in the mornings is a little chilly! I’m using Bleating Art’s Pacemaker Sock, a 100% super twisted merino yarn. Pattern is from my head.

IMG_2460 (800x800)

I’m also still working on my Swan River cardigan in Maniototo Wool and the Liliaceous Shawl in Zealana Kiwi Laceweight.  There is nothing new to show you, so I will wait until they are finished before I put up any more photos of them.

And of course, this post would not be complete without some talk of WIPs to come!

Midnight Yarns

This beautiful mushroom coloured 100% merino from Midnight Yarns arrived in my letterbox recently. It is destined to become Lacebark as soon as I finish Liliaceous!

To my North American friends, Happy 4th of July!

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

6 thoughts on “The trouble with WIPs

  1. LOVE that Stray Cats sock yarn! It looks divine.

  2. un petit bonjour de France!….

  3. Oh my – that ornate sock looks fantastic! I have a similar colour from CTonic, only I still haven’t started my stripey left-over sock you made me want, or finished the sock already on my needles! 😄

  4. Love to hear about your WIPs. Makes me feel slightly less guilty about having so many projects of my own on the go.

  5. I have been drooling over Stray Cat via Instagram for awhile, so it’s good to hear that someone likes it. Maybe it’s in my future 🙂 Thanks for sharing, I love all of your photos and can definitely relate to Cast-on-itis. I have had it lately as well.

  6. I’m working on knitting up some Stray Cat Sock as well. I just love her yarn.