Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Many things

5 Comments

Hello!  I hope this post finds you well, and enjoying life.

I have been missing in action on this blog for a week because life has been quite eventful (in a good way), being the school holidays, and I seem to be finding it hard to find the concentration to sit and write at the moment. Thank you for your patience.  I do not intend to give up blogging as it is a much appreciated means of communicating with like-minded people like you, my dear readers.

One of the things we have got up to was a quick trip to the mountains.

IMG_2476 (640x640) IMG_2477 (640x640)

There was not much snow on the Central Plateau. It has been a very mild winter so far.  But there was enough for the kids to have fun sledding. Mostly, it was great to catch up with my siblings and their families, whom I have not seen for some months.

Let’s get into the knitting news!

I have been very honoured to contribute a pattern for another sock box. This one is from Yarn Crush. My pattern is coming out in October, and I’ll be giving you more hints as time goes on, but I thought I would point out this well-priced product if you are interested in subscribing.

Also watch out for a few more sock pattern releases from me in the near future. The samples are piling up, so time to get down to business and finish the patterns! The first one I want to release is this, the Sassy Socks.

IMG_2265 (1018x1024).jpg

You may recall that this was the PostStitch SockStitch pattern for June. Did I ever link you to their interview with me and Hannah Ginn of Circus Tonic Handmade, whose yarn was in that box?  Those articles are here if you want to read.

I also have a few finished objects to show you.

Here is the beautiful Liliaceous shawl, another gorgeous design by Mary-Anne Mace.

Liliaceous

I used Zealana Kiwi Laceweight in the Fern colourway. It took almost all of four balls to knit.

As usual, the pattern is beautifully written. I loved knitting it, despite making a terrible mistake in the final chart (my own fault), and having to rip out a day’s work in order to reknit the edging correctly. These things happen!
Liliaceous

This shawl is a thank you gift for the very nice person who was kind enough to give me a job at the beginning of the year.

I also finished the fingerless gloves, and they have been appreciatively received by the eldest boy. Thank goodness he likes them!

Fingerless gloves

I am still working on the Swan River cardigan. It is almost time to make the second armhole, which means that I should be nearing completion in about a week (she says!)

It is also time to finish the Southern Skies shawl, which has been hibernating for some months.

Southern skies shawl

The thing that concerns me is that despite using much larger needles, the shawl still seems to be much smaller than I would like it to be. I will add on a significant lace border if that is the case – I have plenty of yarn to make that modification. Between that and blocking, I should get the size I desire!

Happy Knitting!

 

 

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

5 thoughts on “Many things

  1. Taking a break is fine and as a result you seem to have a lot to share. Your Liliceous Shawl is beautifully knitted, especially in the green yarn you chose!!! What a lucky person to get such a wonderful gift. Also a lucky son to get gloves. Luv the mountain pictures. Thanks for sharing all.

  2. That picture of the mountains, especially the first one (Ruapehu?) really takes me back. There is something so refreshing about being in the mountains.

  3. Your shawl is beautiful!! I knitted my first pair of fingerless mitts about a month ago and I think I’ve made about 15 pairs now!! They are so quick to make and I can’t seem to stop making them. I’ll probably sell some of them at my spinning group’s open day next year 🙂

  4. Lovely pictures. Another great sock design. You’re a genius!

  5. Beautiful work, as always. LOVE the mountains!