Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

Lacebark

13 Comments

Hello, and a Happy Weekend to you, in what has been another momentous week on the global stage.  I hope this post finds you well, and doing things that you love.

It is a rainy, rainy day today, perfect for staying home, curling up with knitting and doing not much else.

Thank you so much for your lovely, supportive comments about the finished cardigan I showed you last. I have to say, having now worn it for a couple of weeks, I am especially enamoured of the beautiful yarn – that cashmere blend is something else!

I managed to finish Lacebark this week!  I am so thrilled with how it turned out! As you can see by the million photographs I took…

img_3017

Mary-Anne Mace’s designs take my breath away every time.

So, what did I do for this shawl?

I used three different yarns, but all in the same high-twist merino base type, to give the shawl textural consistency.  I knew when I started it that I would not have enough of the main gradient yarn I used from Ozifarmer’s Market, so I scratched around in my stash and found a beautiful deeper purple colourway from another indie dyer (who sadly no longer makes pretty yarn), and a plain undyed yarn.

I worked the tip in white, and then added in the gradient, and when the gradient was done, I added in the deeper purple.

The pattern itself is interesting. You start out with very basic lace, and gradually move into more and more complex lace techniques as you progress. The final few charts with lace on every side were quite a brain workout, but the result is worth it, and I am sure the grey matter is working much better after that bit of exercise! I do like the progression of lace pattern –  it makes it quite interesting to wear.

In between lace knitting, I did plain vanilla sock knitting, and finished the cute colourway I got from Doespins a while ago, and started another pair (yarn from Happy-go-knitty). These are quite good to knit in the sleepy hours I resist going to bed in, helping me to wind down after a long day in the office, and getting in some ‘me’ time.img_3038-1024x575

It seems that not only must there always be a sock, but there must also always be a shawl on the needles. After much deliberation, I’ve picked the next project.

img_3040-1024x1024I can’t help myself – it’s another Lace Eater design, Regenerate, found in Knitty’s Spring/Summer 2014 patterns. I’m pairing it with Rosewood Wool’s natural dyed Romney wool.

Until next time, Happy Knitting!

 

 

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

13 thoughts on “Lacebark

  1. Glad you have become fond of your cashmere cardigan, it is a nice sweater. And, oh, this luscious Lacebark shawl! You used the yarn to its best advantage, starting out very light, then using the gradient, and finishing with a darker shade. Very inspiring. And you are not wasting any time getting another project started. Enjoy!!!

  2. Your lace work really is impressive, and the shawl looks so delicate and pretty. 😊

  3. Glad your cardigan is truly feeling the love. And happy too, that you are enjoying some serious knitting weather.
    All the best with the new project.
    I am no longer a shawl virgin… Ulva Lactuca was wonderful to knit and is even more wonderful to wear.
    Sending the love
    Cheers
    Karin

  4. I adore your photos! That pale green background really accents the purple so well – I have always loved purple and green together. Great job with the gradient. ❤️ I’m so pleased you like the pattern. 🙂

  5. It’s beautiful. Was it hard to hide the joins?

  6. How absolutely stunning. The shawl is a real work of art!

  7. Love the shawl and socks. Just heard NZ had an earthquake and tsunami. I hope you are safe. Please let us know.

  8. Are you and your son okay? My aunt alerted me about the earthquake and tsunami warnings because my parents and their friends are supposed to sail from Sydney at 6:30 pm your time.

  9. O, WOW ! That shawl looks absolutely stunning !
    Glad to hear you are okay. Hope you’ll be having some good knitting time this coming week, too, to start with your next lace-adventure 🙂

  10. Lacebark is just stunning! I wouldn’t have guessed you used three different yarns. Such beautiful work.